Fearless Fridays

Though I’m really almost too organized in some areas, blogging’s never been one of them.  For the past three years (!), I’ve written when I feel like it, shared songs and hymns, Spurgeon thoughts, etc.  And loved it!!  However, I’ve been considering how to be more consistent, as well as in tune with the heart of the Lord in my writing.  So, with a little tweaking in my schedule and mindset, I may make some headway! 

For the next few months, I’m designating Fridays as Fearless Friday.   Each week, we’ll look at one of the many (!) verses in the Bible where we’re encouraged to Fear Not!

Then each Monday, I will join Carrie, Beth and other online friends, by listing 10 things I’m thankful for, to “The List that Never Ends!”

And Tuesdays…well, you’ll just have to drop by then to see what I’m up to 🙂

That’s as organized as I’m going to get, because I still want open days for sharing songs, personal heart thoughts, devotionals, or whatever!

So….

Let Fearless Friday begin!

I’m tormented with anxiety, fear, and care, and yet realize full well that that doesn’t glorify the Lord.  So last year I began a study on all the verses in the Bible that say “FEAR NOT!”   Encouraging fact–there’s a lot!! 

Even more encouraging is–this command doesn’t stand on its own.  When the Word says FEAR NOT, it’s always accompanied with a reason why fear is not necessary.  That’s where the comfort lies.  For example:

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”  Isaiah 41:10

Why can we step away from fear?  Because God is with us!  He is our God, our strength, our help, and He holds onto us!

Spurgeon paints this picture:

In that silent room of yours, there sits by your side One whom you have not seen, but whom you love; and often when you do not know it, He makes your bed in affliction and smoothes your pillow for you.

Fear not, Christian; Jesus is with you.  In all you fiery trials, His presence is both your comfort and safety.  He will never leave one whom He has chosen for His own.  “Fear not…for I am with thee” is His sure word of promise to His chosen one is the furnace of affliction.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dear Lord, Help us through our earthly fears.  Thank you for reminding us that You are with us, by us, and yes, in us.  Nothing is too difficult for You.   Even when we walk through the valley of the shadow of death, You are with us.  May this realization grow and subdue our fears.  Open our eyes to see You beside us.  Amen

 

6 thoughts on “Fearless Fridays

  1. YAY!! I’m so glad you’re going to start counting your blessings in a never-ending list! 🙂 It has been such a positive experience for me and I hope I never stop (even if the blog stops at some point). Thanks for the link too! 🙂 Also, Is. 41:10 has been one of my favorite verses since the summer of 1995 and I have quoted it many, many times in the course of our travels and even as recently as this week during some yucky days at work. God and His Word are always faithful to uplift and encourage! Blessings!!

    • I am thankful for YOU, Carrie! You and Peter’s lives are a testimony of God’s faithfulness to this generation! I’m so blessed by your commitment and service to Him! Looking forward to joining the throngs in thanksgiving, both online, and in eternity!

      Will keep praying for you during this big adjustment time of working a new job (yuck) and achieving goals (yay)! Blessings to you!

  2. Choosing to walk in love as it casts out all fear.

    Delighted to meet you today. Hope you don’t mind if I splash around a bit to get to know you a bit more.

    Splashin’
    Sarah

  3. Pingback: Trust Your Shepherd | Absolutegrace

What do you think??