Honouring My Mom

Happy 79th Birthday to my Mom!!

I long to honour my mom whenever possible because, even though everything in Scripture says she should be served by the Church, my mom seeks and lives to serve Jesus and His church with no expectation of return.

Recently, she’s struggled with some upper respiratory issues, and had to be the recipient of others’ servitude. But she felt so uncomfortable with that!  She prays to be fully restored and back on her feet, so she can serve, minister, and fellowship to and with others! That’s just one of the reasons I love her so much!!

The following is a repost from her birthday two years ago, but it’s as true today as it was then:

mom and me!Me and my Mom

Let me introduce you to my mom–not back to when I (or she) was a child, but who she is Today–at 77 years old:

  • She joins others at her church several mornings a week to intercede for their pastor, the country, church family, own family, and many other needs.
  • Several years ago she started a Bible Study in her home–and 5 years later, several precious and faithful women still gather together every Monday night to study God’s Word.
  • She serves on her church’s Mission Committee, corresponding with a LOT of missionaries and their families; sends them cards for birthdays, anniversaries and holidays, and keeps them apprised of church events/issues at home.  She also helps plan the annual Missions Conference–contacts missionaries, compiles names of those attending, and helps plan events throughout the week.
  • Four years ago, she started a puppet show ministry, using Bible Stories she wrote for children. Along with other extremely devoted friends from her church, the “Gospel Tellers’  was formed.  They present fun and Scriptural puppet/flannel shows 3-4 times a month at various shelters in the Phoenix area.  And the best part–through these shows, hundreds of children, moms and dads, have come to know Jesus as their Saviour!!

This list doesn’t do her justice, because what really sets her apart is her spirit, her example, and her love for Jesus.  And….she’s my mom!

Her children rise up and bless her!”

“Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised!! ”

Prov. 31:28, 30

13 thoughts on “Honouring My Mom

  1. Happy Mothers Day; A Tribute to Mothers,

    The Architect of Life

    Mothers; The Architect, Inspiring Foundation and Legend of our Life

    A Humble & Admirable Tribute to Mothers;

    Mothers are The Very Most Admirable; Adorable; Beautiful;

    Creative; Honourable; Intelligent; Loving & Respected Persons

    Mothers are the Symbol of Peace, Faith, Hope, Love, Courage,

    Vision,Wisdom, Noble Principles & Values and the very Finest

    Virtues of Life

    Mothers; The Meaningful Pioneer of our Life;

    Mothers are the epitome of divinity

    Gift

    A Mother gives us the most precious Gift of Life and then nurtures us thoughtfully, with love, care and utmost affection, standing by us at each and every step of Life

    Reciprocate

    We should seek to always be there for our Mothers likewise; standing by and very most lovingly supporting our Mothers at each and every step of Life; always with Admiration; Appreciation; Immense Gratitude; Love and Respect for our Mothers always; God Bless Mothers always with the Very Best in Life

    Life always truly encourages us to pursue our objectives with a True and Meaningful Vision of Wisdom – meaningful consideration- meaningful intention- meaningful priority- meaningful responsibility- meaningful diligence- meaningful fortitude; meaningful forbearance; meaningful temperance; meaningful prudence, meaningful wisdom and meaningful confidence at each and every instance, whether in thought or deed

    Foundation

    A Mother is the very Pillar; The very meaningful foundation upon which our Life is so very meaningfully constructed

    Good Natured Principles & Values

    A Mother is the stable and meaningful foundation of good natured principles and values that our Mother’s teach us
    The Very Greatest Inspiration

    Mothers are the very greatest inspiration of our Life that molds; shapes; designs; sculpts our Life very most affectionately; thoughtfully, inspiringly, characteristically, meaningfully; cherishingly and motivatingly ;-

    Humanity

    A Mother is the Greatest Gift of Nature to Humanity

    Treasure

    The above is an attestation of the fact that, “The Greatest Treasure of our Life are our Mothers”
    Reciprocate

    When we respect our Mother first always; When we first reciprocate the love and affection showered on us by our Loving Mothers and always support our Mothers when they need us; we are truly living the very finest moments of our life

    Society

    It is very true and has been repeatedly mentioned that a society is essentially identified and recognized by the way in which it treats its Women in the Society; especially our Mothers; Mothers are the Pillars of our Society

    http://tributetomothers.wordpress.com/

  2. Pingback: Topics about Love-stories » Blog Archive » Honouring My Mom

  3. Wow, what a tribute! I really do not feel worthy of all your praise, but thank you for kind words. May the Lord be glorified!

  4. Yes, she is! I want to emulate her and many of her peers who grasp and embody these verses from Psalm 92:12-15:

    “The righteous flourish like the palm tree
    and grow like a cedar in Lebanon.
    They are planted in the house of the Lord;
    they flourish in the courts of our God.
    They still bear fruit in old age;
    they are ever full of sap and green,
    to declare that the Lord is upright;
    he is my rock, and there is no unrighteousness in him.”

  5. What an endearing post about your mom. Wow, she’s really something. And I am sure you are what you are because she raised you well! I salute older women who never really grow old inside!

    Thanks for sharing. I also loved the quotes you put on WHo is my Neighbor by John Stott. He is one of my favorite authors. How true… we must have an all embracing love for others. This means that we have no favorites, we love all, we are not choosy, or picky in our love.

    Thank you once again.

    Lidia

  6. Tears in my eyes~ Mom this was so special. You have blessed us by posting your thoughts. God is truly working through your site, and it is so cool to be able to freely post, praise, and pray on the pages of cyberspace. I know Grandma was honoured by this tribute–such love and thought put into listing part of her legacy! You are also weaving a beautiful legacy for us, by honoring her, by expressing and loving us fully~ Praying I will be a mother like you, and Grandma, looking to the Lord for wisdom, guidance, patience and preserverance…Love you so very much

  7. Joy,
    Thanks for your sweet words! I feel like I need to make up for years of being a poor example…forgive me for those times. Grandma continues to amaze me with her energy and courage. If the Lord tarries, I pray I can will have even half her strength!! And fruitfulness!

    I love you so much, and know you’ll be a wonderful mom. The Lord will supply all your needs for such a demanding task when you turn to Him 🙂 I love you!! Mom

  8. Once again Linda, you have exalted me far beyond anything I am worthy of receiving. It is great to know I have such a sweet, talented and appreciative daughter. We are a blessed family. I am so thankful to God for each of you Love Mom

  9. Linda,
    I admire and appreciate your mom. Thanks for sharing this again. I remember reading this two years ago, and saying “Wow!”

    Dear friend, I stopped by purposely to greet you a blessed Mother’s Day.

    You are one blog friend I have treasured through the months and years of my blog life.

    You inspire, and you encourage.

    Love
    Lidj

  10. Yesterday, as I was leaving the premises of our city’s small post office, my heart was singing. We had our weekly prayer time at our ministry office just that morning after which our secretary handed me a small post office slip indicating that a parcel was waiting for me to pick up.

    I knew it was the parcel from you that I had been waiting for.

    As soon as I got the little box, I couldn’t help it. I had to sit at a corner of the office and opened up the box right there and then.

    Everything was intact and in perfect condition despite the long time it took to get here!

    Thank you for the books – the additional ones you put in, by Huegel and Ten Boom are written by authors I love, so I am really looking forward to hours of reading delight and receiving fresh insights from God.

    The card is beautiful, and so are the words you wrote in it for me.

    RIght now I am listening to the CD. I already have Kari Jobe, but that’s okay, I have a dear friend who will love to receive a new worship CD. She doesn’t have Kari Jobe yet.

    I have been basking in the beauty of GOd’s love while listening to the songs on the other CD you made for me. This is my first time to hear Pocketful of Rocks. I especially loved the Blessing in the Thorn! Jeremy Riddle and David Crowder Band are among my favorite song artists!

    This is a long comment, but I really want to tell you your act of kindness and generosity has touched me again. That someone whom I have never even met face to face is willing to go out of the way to do this for me. Your love has truly reached out to me across the miles.

    Please let me know if there is anything you want from here – do you love beaded necklaces, or bracelets, or woven hats, or handpainted scarves… or hawaiiaan style floral print cotton dresses… all of which we have aplenty right here where I live, or in the flea markets in Manila. I can get some for you… but I have to know what you want.

    Again, many thanks and much love to you.

    Lidj

    • Dear Lidj,
      Thank YOU again and again. So often I search my heart and soul, and wonder if my light is even flickering for the Lord, if my life is bearing fruit, or if there’s a place for me in this world to serve the Lord.. I struggle trying to be like others and often chide myself for ‘just’ being me. So your letter, your post on your blog, has overwhelmed me to tears. I just can’t tell you how much your response means, comforts, and encourages me. I CAN minister and bless others, through daily obedience. Not the monumental things to be shouted from the roof tops. But by being a friend, a neighbor, having compassion, showing mercy…. I’m undone.

      What a glorious day when we not only see our Lord face-to-face, but unite with our precious family around the world! I can’t wait to meet you!!!!

      For now, I’m overwhelmed by your gracious thoughts and words, and can’t imagine asking for more. But I’ll let you know if there’s a little something I might like–just to know it’s from you.

      Thank you again, dear, dear friend. Love, Linda

What do you think??

