Booking It 2011

I know…the month is closing down and I’m just now posting my 2011 reading list!  But I must speak to my inner guilt, and say..well, at least it’s still January!

Once again, with encouragement from LifeasMom, Carrie’s Busy Nothings, and Beth Stone’s Studio, I’m committing myself to another year of good reading with the Booking It 2011 project!  If you check out any of these blogs, you can see what they are reading, and read their reviews as the year progresses.  Last year I posted my reading list for 2010 HERE.  However, as things go, some were dropped and others added, so this is what I actually read:

Before Green Gables (reviewed here), by Budge Wilson
Broken-Down House (reviewed here), by Paul D. Tripp
Little Dorrit, by Charles Dickens
The Pilgrim’s Progress, by John Bunyan
Shelter in a Time of Storm, (reviewed here), by Paul D. Tripp
Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea, by Lucy M Montgomery
Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers, by Arthur Bennett
Transforming Together: Authentic Spiritual Mentoring, by Ele Parrott
Stuff Christians Like, by Jon Acuff (funny!!!!!)
A Christmas Carol, by Charles Dickens
Now That is Amazing Grace, by William McDonald
Learning to Pray in 28 Days, by Kay Arthur
What Did You Expect?  by Paul D. Tripp, this time, about marriage

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For 2011, I’ve compiled this optimistic list and am really looking forward to all the great reading ahead!!

Les Miserables, by Victor Hugo
Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy, by Eric Mataxas  (in progress)
Orthodoxy, by GH Chesterton
Generous Justice,  by Timothy Keller
Nicholas Nickleby,  by Charles Dickens
The Confession,  by John Grisham
Planet Narnia, by Michael Ward

And more ‘Anne‘ books:
Anne of the Island 
Anne of Windy Poplar  
Anne’s House of Dreams
Anne of Ingleside
Rainbow Valley
Rilla of Ingleside

And I’ve added Faith Alone, by Luther, to my devotional list.  I hope Spurgeon won’t mind too much.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This list could take a wide detour if my courses in M.Ed assign copious reading projects!  So my ambitious aspirations, as Captain Barbosa would say, “are really more like guidelines.” 

Please join me, and many others over at LifeasMom, for good reading, discussion, and encouragement!  What are you reading?

6 thoughts on “Booking It 2011

  1. I gave Peter the Bonhoeffer book (unabridged on CD) for Christmas. He likes to listen to books on his commute to and from work each day. Looks like you have a great list going and I look forward to reading your reviews! Thanks for the mention! 🙂 Blessings and Happy Reading!

    • Carrie, Where did you find the CD version? We want to add more audio books to our library, considering how much time we seem to spend/travel in our car! And thanks for the encouragement!! Blessings too!

      • Where else? AMAZON!! 🙂 I used gift cards to buy it (that I earned through Swagbucks and writing reviews for Viewpoints) and also left it in the shopping cart until it dropped in price. Peter LOVES audio books!

  2. Looks like a great list! I listened to Les Miserables for free on itunes last year when working on a mural project… You can get LOTS of free audiobooks through itunes (which you can listen to on your computer – no ipod needed!). Simply search for “Librivox” and there are a ton of classics…. Happy reading!

    • Beth and Carrie, Thank you both for the info! We’ve enjoyed a couple of audiobooks through librivox reocrdings at the library. I didn’t realize they are on Itunes! Yay!

      …everytime I read the word “librivox”, I hear the opening, “THIS is a librivox recording.” 🙂

      Btw, do either of you count audio books as reading? I want to…but…is. it. alright?

      • Peter does because if he didn’t listen to books on CD, he wouldn’t have time to read. I don’t, but I have a reason. 🙂 I don’t pick stuff up if I listen to it. I have a hard time staying focused on what they are saying, so if I really want to understand and grasp the concept, I need to read it myself. Book in hand. It’s just my learning style. Otherwise, if you get just as much out of listening to it – it absolutely counts! 😀

What do you think??

