Veiled Voyage

“He stilled the storm to a whisper, the waves of the sea were hushed.
They were glad when it grew calm, and he guided them to their desired haven.” Psalm 107:29, 30

 

I’m already behind this year! 

For several years, I’ve begun the New Year by writing two prayers to the Lord:  one of thankfulness for His supreme mercy and grace for the past; the other, a prayer of dedication, commitment, and a few requests for the year ahead.  This morning, I re-read several of these and was awestruck, all over again, by God’s faithfulness in my life.  So much so, that words escape me and I cant’ compose any new thoughts!

       Or, in other words, I haven’t written my 2011 prayers…

But I love the following from The Valley of Vision [1], because it expresses an utter dependency on the Lord that I long to foster with each passing day.  Perhaps you may take this with you on the journey through 2011.  A journey, or voyage, presently veiled from our eyes by a gracious and understanding Lord.

 

 

Voyage

O Lord of the oceans,
My little bark sails on a restless sea,
Grant that Jesus may sit at the helm and steer me safely,
Suffer no adverse currents to divert my heavenward course,
Let not my faith be wrecked amid storms and shoals,
Bring me to harbour with flying pennants, hull unbreached, cargo unspoiled.

My little bark sails..

I ask great things,
     expect great things,
         shall receive great things.
I venture on Thee wholly, fully,
          my wind, sunshine, anchor, defence.

The voyage is long, the waves high, the storms pitiless,
but my helm is held steady,
the Word secures safe passage,
Thy grace wafts me onward,
my haven is guaranteed.

My haven is guaranteed

This day will bring me nearer home,
Grant me holy consistency in every transaction,
            my peace flowing as a running tide,
            my righteousness as every chasing wave.
Help me to live circumspectly,
with skill to convert every care into prayer.

Halo my path with gentleness and love,
smooth every asperity of temper,
let me not forget how easy it is to occasion grief,
may I strive to bind up every wound,
            and pour oil on all troubled waters.

Halo my path with gentleness and love

May the world this day be happier and better because I live,
Let my mast before me be the Saviour’s cross,
and every oncoming wave the fountain in His side.

My Mast, the Saviour's Cross

Help me, protect me in the moving sea,
until I reach the shore of unceasing praise.

 

…with unceasing praise!

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Lord, help me to turn every care into prayer, and give thanks for Your unfailing love!

From Psalm 107…

Some went out on the sea in ships;
   they were merchants on the mighty waters.
They saw the works of the LORD,
   his wonderful deeds in the deep.
For he spoke and stirred up a tempest
   that lifted high the waves.
They mounted up to the heavens and went down to the depths;
   in their peril their courage melted away.

They reeled and staggered like drunkards;
   they were at their wits’ end.
Then they cried out to the LORD in their trouble,
   and He brought them out of their distress. 
He stilled the storm to a whisper;
   the waves of the sea were hushed.
They were glad when it grew calm,
   and he guided them to their desired haven.
Let them give thanks to the LORD for his unfailing love and his wonderful deeds for mankind.

 

 

[1] Arthur Bennett, Ed.  The Valley of Vision:  A Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotions.  Banner of Truth Trust, Carlisle, PA.  2003

4 thoughts on “Veiled Voyage

  1. I love this mom! SO refreshing to awake to see this piece on voyage of 2011, I have been trying to put it all in perspective, define the year already–but God knows what is ahead, and I too, want to rely on His help, not my own worried thoughts..for this New Year.. I love you

What do you think??

