A Christmas Prayer

The best of times…and the worst of times.  The Christmas season.  In so many ways, it is the best of times, as Scrooge’s nephew says, “a kind, forgiving, charitable, pleasant time: the only time I know of, in the long calendar year, when men and women seem by one consent to open their shut-up hearts freely…” [1]

But if bad, even awful, things happen during this “festive season of the year,” including loss, sickness, loneliness, unemployment or unmet expectations, Christmas can easily turn dark, and feel like the worst time of the year.  

Our friend, Colin Bernard, who sings the song in the YouTube video below, puts it this way:  

“For some people, Christmas is the loneliest time of the year and I think we’ve all had a chance to experience a bit of sadness at one Christmas or another. But Christmas being what it is, reminds us that the future is loaded with Hope….  As secular and as commercial as Christmas has become, there is always that underlying yearning and thirst for the hope that Christ offers. Everyone feels it but most don’t realize what [Who] the source of that yearning is.”

  

 

A CHRISTMAS PRAYER
by Joel Bernard

Well the music is sweet and the snow it is white
And I’m surrounded by strangers
On this frozen Christmas night
O Angel of Mercy, Angel of Light
Won’t you be a lamp at my feet
Lead me through this restless night

And I’d give anything to feel Christmas in my heart
And I’d give everything to sing songs of this holy night
And I’d give anything to feel Christmas in my heart tonight

Now I find myself on this empty street
Four o’clock in the morning, such a deafening silence
The snow it is gentle, falling light and sweet
Softly resting on me, just a token of Your love.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you know the Hope of Christmas, be thankful! Share with others, humbly, gently, yet passionately.

If your Christmas feels like the worst of times, you’re not alone.  Jesus says, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”  Your burdens are very real, but thankfully, He offers comfort that’s even more real.  He isn’t just a Babe in a manger.  He is a loving Redeemer who is only a prayer away.

 

 “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”  John 3:16

 

[1] Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol, 1843.  Pg. 9.

What do you think??

