a few honest questions

But avoid foolish questions, genealogies, dissensions, and quarrels about the law; for they are unprofitable and worthless.”  Titus 3:9

“What do you think about Calvinism? Don’t you think the Bible is confusing on the issue of election and calling?”  The young man asking me those questions had just been released from jail and was close to being sent back due to allegations of domestic abuse.  Though he sincerely loved studying God’s Word, his questions were a bit off-the-mark considering his tenuous circumstances.  I thought more appropriate ones might be, “What can I learn from this situation?” or, perhaps, “How can I repair the damage I’ve done?”

His questions weren’t wrong,  just not honest.  Often we ask contentious or frivolous questions as a tactic to avoid being honest, either with others, or ourselves.  Charles Spurgeon suggests a few questions that will help us be honest with ourselves:

Do I believe in the Lord Jesus Christ?

Am I renewed in the spirit of my mind?

Am I walking not after the flesh, but after the Spirit?

Am I growing in grace?

Does my conversation (attitudes/lifestyle) reflect the love of God my Saviour?

Am I looking for the coming of the Lord and watching as a servant who expects his master should?

What more can I do for Jesus?

And here’s a few of my own:

“How can I glorify the Lord in my life/situation?

“How can I bear another’s burden? 

“How can I love my neighbor and be a reflection of Jesus to them?”

What questions are you asking?

Let’s pray together, that we may set aside obscure, frivolous, contentious, or ‘foolish’ questions, and seek to ask the honest ones–ones that will lead us deeper into God’s Word, draw us closer to Christ, foster peace with others, and bring glory to Him.

4 thoughts on “a few honest questions

  1. I love this… and am so glad that I stumbled on your blog today. I’ve already added you to my blogroll so that I can check back often, and I’m looking forward to spending more time going through the one’s listed on your blogroll. It’s so wonderful to see how the Lord can use technology to bring so many together that He may be glorified. God Bless and thank you for taking the time to write.

    • Celeste, I’m so glad you dropped by and commented! Yes, I’ve found the Lord is truly glorified through His people and technology when surrendured to Him! I’ve made new friends, discovered music and a wealth of resources, and been encouraged in His Word through other’s blogs/websites!
      Looking forward to growing together in Him!

What do you think??

