Unfading Grace

“To everything there is a season and a purpose to everything under heaven.” Ecclesiastes 3:1

“While the earth remains, seed-time and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, day and night, shall not cease.”  Genesis 8:22

I find comfort in the seasons the Lord has established for us.  At least for now.  I suppose, being in the autumn of my life, I’m not going to relish the onset of  winter.  But as with every day, every season requires trust.  Is God as faithful in the autumn as He was in the summer?  And will He be faithful when the winter comes?  I know it.  But as seasons change, that’s when I really learn it.  

Spurgeon assures us that God’s grace is present in every season:

Sickness may befall, but the Lord will give grace; poverty may happen to us, but grace will surely be afforded; death must come, but grace will light a candle in the darkest hour. How blessed it is as years roll around, and the leaves begin again to fall, to enjoy such an unfading promise as this, “The Lord will give grace.”

He continues:

He gives grace abundantly, seasonably, constantly, readily, sovereignly.

Grace in all its forms He freely renders to His people: comforting, preserving, sanctifying, directing, instructing, assisting grace. He generously pours into their souls without ceasing, and He always will do so, whatever may occur…

I can’t stop the seasons, anymore than I can keep the leaves from changing colours, the frost chilling the night, or the grass fading.   But I can trust in the Lord who is ever faithful.  His grace is unfading!

“God is faithful, by whom you were called into the fellowship of his Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.”  I Corinthians 1:9

I just placed a new song in the Blue Music Box which speaks to me of God’s faithfulness through the seasons.   In the song, “Show Me”, young songwriter and singer, Audrey Assad [1], recounts of the Lord, in His mercy, guiding her through the seasons.  Here’s one portion I particularly like:

“So let me go like a leaf upon the water
Let me brave the wild currents flowing to the sea
And I will disappear into a deeper beauty
But for now just stay with me
God, for now just stay with.”  [1]
 

 

[1]  Audrey Assad, The House You’re Building.  Released, Jul 13, 2010.  ℗ 2010 Sparrow Records.

6 thoughts on “Unfading Grace

  1. I cannot thank you enough for this post – your words, the photos, and the song Show Me. I listened to it on YouTube, and I allowed the tears to flow.

    You have put into words the feelings that I have in my heart – words that somehow I was not able to put in black and white.

    But here I am reading your own words, just as if they were mine.

    Linda, one of the things I will look forward to in heaven is to meet you face to face.

    You have such a deep, sensitive, perceptive spirit. Did you know that you are very good at saying just enough words – not too much, not to little. And you whet the readers’ appetite for more.

    I also read the previous posts you did. I never got to know the story why you have moved from Franklin to Ottawa… but I realize that God is dealing with your heart in that new place as well.

    I love Audrey Assad. It is one of the songs, I have decided, that I will want played at my funeral (don’t mean to sound so sad… but when I get to hear a really nice song, with a really nice line, like …”show me how to die…” it stirs up deep emotions in me!)

    May I ask your permission to use this as a guest post for my blog on my last entry for October?

    Blessings abound in your life this season, my dear friend.

    Love
    Lidj

  2. Dear Lidj,
    I look forward to meeting you, too, dear friend. Thank you for the encouragement. Sometimes it is difficult to put the deepest feelings into words. Perhaps that’s why I don’t post as often as I think, because I’m not sure I want to ‘go there.’

    Sometime I will fill in the blanks about our time in Ottawa. Basically, it was a trip of seeking and finding what the Lord wants of us in this new season of our life. Relationships, the church, and so much more have really drawn us into the community here, and we see ourselves returning to serve the Lord as He designs.

    I would be utterly delighted, honoured, and humbled to be featured as a guest post on your blog. You have one of the most beautiful and Christ-centered blogs I’ve come across. You seem so transparent and intuned with the Holy Spirit, which are two things I envy (in a good way.)

    May the Lord comfort and strengthen you in your season as well! Blessings, Linda

  3. Hi Linda,
    I have just posted about an hour ago, this post on my Oct 31 blog.

    Please, if you have time, do hop over and visit.

    Your words are beautiful.

    And so is the song.

    It is now one of my favorites.

    I appreciate your heart, so deep, so caring, and so sensitive.

    Praise God for a beautiful woman like you.

    Love
    Lidj

    • Dear Lidj,
      Thank you so much for your encouraging words and love. You are a friend indeed, even though we’ve never met. Let us support each other in prayer as we transition through our personal seasons, with the hope and certainty of meeting face-to-face! With humble love and affection, Linda

What do you think??

