God of This City – Our City

 “Someday you will live forever in a fully restored house [city], but right now you are called to live with peace, joy, and productivity in a place damaged by sin.  Emmanuel lives here with us, and He is at work returning his house to its former beauty.”
Paul David Tripp, Broken-Down House

 

As part of  my “God of This City” series, I want to share a little slideshow compiled from John’s photos of our current city, Ottawa, set to Tomlin’s song, God of This City.  This isn’t a ‘tourist’ video made to highlight key sites of this beautiful city (tho scenic pics are included), but rather, a glimpse of what the Lord sees everyday…people who need Jesus!

“This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers.”  I John 3:16

 

 

I encourage you today, to pray for your geographical city–wherever God has placed you.  Pray for your government leaders, law-makers, judges, police officers and other civil servants, for your school teachers, pastors, co-workers, employers, employees, along with your neighbors, friends……and your precious family. 

7 thoughts on “God of This City – Our City

  1. Wonderful: The photos, the music, the words of exhortation! Since your previous post I have been thinking about what you have encouraged us do do at the end of this post – praying for our city and its inhabitants. Keep on bloggin’ !

  2. Wow, what a great video! You did a professional job. Glad you have put it on UTube. Hope many people view this one Linda. Really great!

  3. I needed to come here today. Tomlin’s song is an echo of encouragement to why God sent us to this city we have moved to. It is a song I need to sing every day – because that is the mission statement of why we are here. I need that reminder and that encouragement. Thank you:)

    • Hi there! I’m so thankful you were encouraged! I pray the Lord will show you tangible fruit in your city to lift your spirits and glorify Him!

      I just visited your blog and would love to be more in touch. If you don’t mind, I’d like to add your link to my (perhaps-too-long) list. Also, I visited libby’s blog and will keep her and her dear family in prayer. Ever since my sister-in-law, Becky, was diagnosed with cancer last year, the Lord has opened my eyes to a great many others needing prayer in their similar battles.

      Blessings from a new follower of bluecottonmemory! Linda

What do you think??

