It’s His Church!

This a a re-post of something I wrote over two years ago.   The terms, “Church” and “Christianity,” often stir up a wide-range of negative emotions— anger, rage, dissatisfaction, dissapointment, hurt,  etc.  And I  understand why. It’s full of people!  People hurt and disappoint and fall short of their own goals or standards.  People in the church fall short of Christ’s standards.  And that brings tremendous shame on the Church and Christianity.  But…..

I am grieved by the attitude so many Christians maintain towards ‘the church’.  The church, local and worldwide, with all the good, bad, and ugly, is loved by Jesus.  He died for it.  He died for us.  We are the church.  

Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her, that He might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word, so that He might present the church to Himself in splendor, without spot or blemish….no one ever hated his own flesh, but nourishes and cherishes it, just as Christ does the church, because we are members of His body.”  Ephesians 5:25-27, 29-30

Christ gave Himself up for the church.  He separated it for Himself, He cherishes the church. 

There’s so much dissatisfaction with either the local church or the church in general, that many either choose not to be part of one, or they change churches like they change their clothes..trying them on to see what fits or “looks good.”  They check it out saying, “does this one make me look fat?” or “how do I feel about this one—today?”  Statements such as “the church doesn’t meet my needs, “I don’t like the worship”, or the quintessential excuse, “the church is full of hypocrites”, is all too common.  All these sentiments lead to the same outcome; dissatisfaction with others, disconnection with Jesus Christ, and ultimately, disillusionment with their faith.  My heart aches, because it is HIS Church!

And God placed all things under His feet and appointed Him to be the head over everything for the church, which is His body, the fullness of Him who fills everything in every way. (Eph.1:22-23)

In Him the whole building is joined together and rises to become a holy temple in the Lord.  And in Him you too are being built together to become a dwelling in which God lives by his Spirit. (Eph. 2:21-22 )

“Let us rejoice and be glad and give the glory to Him for the marriage of the Lamb has come and His bride has made herself ready.”  (Rev 19:7)

“And I saw the holy city, new Jersualem, coming down out of heaven from God, made ready as a bride adorned for her husband.”  (Rev 21:2)

When Christians complain about the church, they’re railing against the Beloved of Jesus.  “I am my beloved’s and my beloved is mine!”  In our own families, we get defensive if someone speaks negatively about our spouse, siblings, or one of our children (even if we’re aware of their faults!)  How much more does it hurt the Lord when we speak against His Bride? 

Let me close with a quote by a more eloquent and theologically-estute communicator, about the church:

On earth she is often in rags and tatters, stained and ugly, despised and persecuted.  But one day she will be seen for what she is, nothing less than the bride of Christ, “Free from spots, wrinkles or any other disfigurement,” holy and without blemish, beautiful and glorious.  It is to this constructive end that Christ has been working and is continuing to work.  The bride does not make herself presentable; it is the bridegroom who labours to beautify her in order to present her to himself.    John Stott

Be patient with the work that Christ and the Holy Spirit are doing to complete and beautify His Bride.  Please don’t diminish or spurn the very one Jesus loves with complaints or strife.  It’s His Church!

6 thoughts on “It’s His Church!

  1. Hi! Bear with me as I just started blogging here, as you can tell. Hope I’m posting on the right spot. I see that your views are very different than mine, so I appreciate your open-mindedness, too. Yes, I always try to listen to others opinions about god.

    Your photos (or your husband’s) on this blog are beautiful! I did take the heading photo….it was taken in FL.

  2. Thanks for commenting!! I love your photo, and hope you’ll display more as you get comfortable with blogging. I’m still learning too (about blogging & God), and am often a little behind the curve.
    Re. blogs, wordpress FAQs and forums are really helpful.
    Re. God, the only place I know to go is the Bible, my mom, and some others I really trust. realize the latter is sometimes difficult to find.. in all humility, perhaps over time, you’ll find those ‘others.’ Thanks again!
    Linda

  3. Your comments on the church are true. It is His church! It’s just not the one you’re in. This is not the church that people are railing against. The man-made church that promotes legalism, tradition, tithe, customs, programs, entertainment and every other thing that has nothing to do with Christ’s birth of the 1st century church is the one everyone dislikes.

    Don’t take it from me – some buzzard blogger you don’t know even exists. Be brave and have your eyes opened, read Pagan Christianity and find out what’s really going on…cruis barna.org and read up on what’s really under the covers of the church that is dying.

  4. Deaconandusher,
    Thanks so much for your comments. I love the discourse. I looked at the website you referred to, and the books look interesting. However, having no familiarity with Dr. Barma or his books, I refrain from commenting on his assessments of the church at this time.

    I know there’s a TON of discourse about this topic–among Christians and non-. As for me, “I determine to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ, and Him crucified.”(I Cor.1:2) I know that’s being rather simplistic, but we (as the church and individuals) are cautioned not to depart from the “simplicity and purity of devotion to Christ.” (2 Cor.11:3).

    Yes 🙂 I did raise the issue of the church in my blog… My primary concern is that many people are looking for the Perfect Chuch, and according to Scriptures, there is none on this earth–no matter what new slant we take. The 1st century church had it’s issues too–because it was filled with imperfect people. Paul’s admonishment to them serves us as well:

    “I, therefore, the prisoner of the Lord, entreat you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling with which you have been called, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, showing forbearance to one another in love, being diligent to preserve the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.” He continues, “There is one body and one Spirit, just as you (we) were called in one hope of our calling.” (Eph.4:1-4)

    My plea (in the blog) pertains to myself too! “Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice, and be kind to one another, tender-hearted, forgiving each other, just as God in Christ also has forgiven you.” (Eph.4:31-32) We are all guilty of something the Lord hates very much, as those “who spread strife among brothers!” (Prov.6:19)

    I apologize for being more verbose than I’d like, but what I’m trying to say is:
    Be patient with the work Jesus is doing among His church, knowing that the perfection we so long for won’t be complete until Jesus returns for His Bride, and “He shall wipe away every tear from their eyes, and there shall no longer be any death; there shall no longer be any mourning, or crying or pain; the first things have passed away.” (Rev.21:4) That is our Hope! God Bless You!! Linda

    Fyi: Another good book idea on the church is by Joshua Harris, entitled, “Stop Dating the Church: Fall in Love with the Family of God.” It’s very balanced and puts more onus on the individual than the”establishment.”

What do you think??

