Alabastar Jar

“A woman came to Him with an alabaster vial of very costly perfume, and she poured it on His head as He reclined at the table.  And when the disciples saw it, they were indignant, saying, “Why this waste?”  Matthew 26:7,8

Today I’m posting from an internet cafe and the clock is winding down! Still working on updating my access at home, so I appreciate your gracious patience with me, and my less-than-frequent blogging.

Lately, some choices we’ve made look wasteful. Outwardly. But the Lord is the only One who knows fully the thoughts and intents of the heart, and can determine the value of our gifts, actions, and choices in this life.

Perhaps there are those in your life wondering, as they observe your life, decisions/choices, or sacrifices, “Why this waste?”   May the Lord encourage your hearts, that even a glass of water given in His name does not go unnoticed.  He doesn’t judge; He supports, and says to those voices, internal and external, “Why do you trouble the woman? For she has done a beautiful thing to me.”  (Matthew 26:10)

May the words of the song below be your’s today.  And our’s.  And may all we do bring our Saviour honour and glory. Nothing less. Nothing more.

Alabastar Jar
by Zack Neese

This alabaster jar
Is all I have of worth
I break it at your feet, lord
It’s less than you deserve

You’re far more beautiful
More precious than the oil
The sum of my desires
And the fullness of my joy!

Like you spilled your blood,
I spill my heart as an offering
To my king
Here I am, take me
As an offering

Here I am, giving every heartbeat
For your glory take me
The time that I have left
Is all I have of worth
I lay it at your feet, lord
It’s less than you deserve

And though I’ve little strength
And though my days are few,
You gave your life for me
So, I will live my life for you

Worthy, worthy
You are worthy
Worthy is the Lord!!

 I just added the music to this song in the Blue Music Box.  I chose a track from Gateway Worship, found on their CD, Wake Up the World!  This entire is album is full of inspirational worship to the Lord, so please check it out HERE.

Blessings to you this day!

Waste yourself on Him!

~~~~

4 thoughts on “Alabastar Jar

  1. Oh Linda – how I needed this encouragement today! We’re working through our finances and trying to be a better steward of all that the Lord has given us, but there are time when I feel like the utterly fail. And yet tomorrow is fresh and we can make new choices and continue to honor and serve Him in all that we do and with all that we have. Thanks for the reminder! Blessings!

    • Carrie,
      Thank you for sharing! I’m so glad you were encouraged. Thankfully, the Lord doesn’t see us failing–He sees willing hearts in earthen jars, who are seeking and praying for His will to be do in our lives 🙂 He knows, sees, and loves you guys so much!!

      I want/need to discuss more on this…we will have more reliable internet access by Tuesday! YAY!

      Blessings to you both! Love, Linda

  2. Linda,

    I loved your last sentence. WASTE YOUR LIFE ON HIM! What a true and worthy statement. Without Him…our lives are nothing but the fire of hell. But in Him…we are worth much…and a life lived in Him…cannot be wasted.

    I open my alabaster…and the aroma will spread to many!

    Blessings,

    Gladwell

    • Amen, Gladwell!!

      I want to hold onto some of the contents, but He calls me to pour it all out! I need to keep myself from be so stingy with all He has given!

      Thank you, Gladwell!! You’re a blessing!

What do you think??

