I Know Nothing of Calvary Love

“…live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.”  Ephesians 5:2

“This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers.”  I John 3:16

 

The older I get, the longer I walk with the Lord, the more I realize I know nothing of love.  Not romantic, friendship, or familial love (though some may doubt my understanding of those too :-)), but the unconditional, sacrificial, uncomfortable, painful, patient, serving, suffering and unselfish kind of love.  Calvary Love.

Amy Carmichael, lifetime missionary, author, hymn writer and courageous servant of the Lord, made this observation in her book, If:

If I hold on to choices of any kind, just because they are my choices..

if I give more room to my private likes and dislikes…

if I am soft on myself and slide easily and comfortable into the vice of self-pity and eliciting sympathy…

if I do not, by the grace of God, build a fortress around my inner man to protect it from my own soulish-ness…

if the praise of others elates me…

if the blame of others depresses me…

if I cannot rest when I am misunderstood, without defending myself…

if I love to be loved, more than to give love…

if I love to be served, more than serving…

            then I know nothing of Calvary love.

 

Amy Carmichael, You Are My Hiding Place, Devotional readings arranged by David Hazard.  Bethany House. Minneapolis. 1991. pps. 34, 36

8 thoughts on “I Know Nothing of Calvary Love

    • Yes, her poem is a tough one, and only by God’s grace, can I learn to love as Jesus has/does. The original is a lot longer (and all intense) but I only included an excerpt here. Maybe more, later. Love you mom!!

  1. Oh thanks so much for posting this up!I was really impacted to look at my own heart again.to really seek deeper into the meaning of Calvary’s love.thanks again!have a blessed Easter!!!
    …oh btw I love the songs here:)

  2. i read the original……. before i stumbled here. well ,,….truly put ,,,,GRACE alone can help me understand the significance of Calvary..

What do you think??

