Beneath the Cross

 “May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.”   Galatians 6:14

“And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself and became obedient to death— even death on a cross.”     Philippians 2:8

“Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God .”  Hebrews 12:2

Today I wish to let these verses and songs speak for themselves.  The first song is by Keith and Kristyn Getty, with their recording available in the Blue music box; the other is an older, cherished hymn from the 19th century.  Both glory in the Cross and reveal the priceless Grace of our Lord Jesus.

Beneath the Cross

Beneath the cross of Jesus
I find a place to stand,
And wonder at such mercy
That calls me as I am;
For hands that should discard me
Hold wounds which tell me, “Come
.”
Beneath the cross of Jesus
My unworthy soul is won.

Beneath the cross of Jesus
His family is my own—
Once strangers chasing selfish dreams,
Now one through grace alone.
How could I now dishonor
The ones that You have loved?

Beneath the cross of Jesus
See the children called by God.

Beneath the cross of Jesus—
The path before the crown—
We follow in His footsteps
Where promised hope is found.
How great the joy before us
To be His perfect bride;
Beneath the cross of Jesus
We will gladly live our lives.

Words and Music by Keith & Kristyn Getty,  Thankyou Music

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Beneath The Cross Of Jesus
Elizabeth Clephane

Beneath the cross of Jesus I fain would take my stand,
The shadow of a mighty Rock within a weary land;
A home within the wilderness, a rest along the way
From the burning of the noonday heat and the burden of the day.

Upon that cross of Jesus, mine eye can sometimes see
The very dying form of One who suffered there for me;
And from my smitten heart with tears two wonders I confess –
The wonders of His glorious love and my own worthlessness.

I take, O cross, thy shadow for my abiding place –
I ask no other sunshine than the sunshine of His face;
Content to let the world go by, to know no gain nor loss,
My sinful self my only shame, my glory all the cross.

4 thoughts on “Beneath the Cross

  1. Thank you, Linda. As always….you are doing a good job digging out for the old almost forgotten songs which are so full of truth and grace . How would our lives look like with THE CROSS? I fret to think…but I will boast only in the Cross none other.

    Blessings and hugs,

    Gladwell

    • Indeed–who are we apart from Christ, the Cross, His new mercies every morning and strength through the day?! Thank you for your comment and focus on Jesus!

      I love the old hymns and find some in my collection of hymnbooks–others I find on current CDs, since quite a few contemporary Christian musicians are gaining an appreciation for the hymns and recording them! So blessed for all the musical resources online. My favourites are Amazon and Sovereign Grace.

      Blessings!!! Linda

  2. This was sung at our church on Good Friday it was the first time i heard it so i had to search and find out where it came from. The words are absolutely beautiful. They brought tears to my eyes and chills on my arms. Thank you for sharing this. Without the cross and Jesus Christ we would be nothing, no hope, just a waste of human life we would be. Thank God for His love for us and Praise Him who died for me!
    Happy Ressurection Sunday to all!

  3. Oh thank you and praise God, truly, for His perfect demonstration of love on the cross – Jesus literally drinking down the “cup” that was due me and having become my propitiation!

    Blessings!

What do you think??

