Where is Your Treasure?

 “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”  Matthew 6:21 ESV

Last year I read two books which really challenged me, and shook me clear out of my comfort zone.  The first was Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper, and the other, Just Do Something, by Kevin DeYoung.   Both books may have been written to encourage  younger people to serve the Lord, but both touched this 50-something heart and spirit to seek the Lord and pray how to better treasure Jesus and serve Him while I yet breathe.

Everyday, I must ask myself, “Who, what, and where is your treasure?”  This mindset must guide every decision as I live.  For when life is no more, decisions are no more.  If I treasure Christ above all, my decisions now will reflect that!

The summation of Piper’s book is:

 ..whatever you do, find God-centered, Christ-exalting, Bible-saturated passion of your life,
and find your way to say it
and live for it
and die for it.
and you will make
a difference that lasts
.
You will not waste you life.”

Piper’s thoughts have been uttered before.  The Apostle Paul said:

“Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ.”  Philippians 3:8

Luther noted nearly 500 years ago that:

Whatever your heart clings to and confides in, that is really your God.

Faith is a living, daring confidence in God’s grace, so sure and certain that a man could stake his life on it a thousand times.

I have held many things in my hands, and I have lost them all; but whatever I have placed in God’s hands, that I still possess.

And Matthew Henry wrote:

There are treasures in heaven. It is our wisdom to give all diligence to make our title to eternal life sure through Jesus Christ, and to look on all things here below, as not worthy to be compared with it, and to be content with nothing short of it….

A man may do some service to two masters, but he can devote himself to the service of no more than one. God requires the whole heart, and will not share it with the world. When two masters oppose each other, no man can serve both. He who holds to the world and loves it, must despise God; he who loves God, must give up the friendship of the world.

 

The YouTube video below sums up all these thoughts into a 3 minute, hard-hitting message.  It is called a  ‘sermon jam”  which is simply a dynamic compilation of key sermon points, upbeat music, and bold visuals.  This one is brilliant ! Please give it a  go..it’s short, challenging, and deliberately convicting.  

 

For more Sermon Jams, check out the link I have to the right or HERE.

One thought on “Where is Your Treasure?

  1. Hi Linda. Powerful post. I like this quote in particular; I have held many things in my hands, and I have lost them all, but whatever I have placed in God’s hands, that I still possess. The quote there summarizes the story of my life. God is a TREASURE KEEPER.

    Blessings as you encourage.

    Gladwell

What do you think??

