More of You, Less of Me

He must increase, but I must decrease.”  John 3:30

We sang a humble worship song in church–a poetic expression of the lead-in Scripture– which has been playing over and over in my head ever since.   The words beautifully highlight the truths John the Baptist shared in John 3:27-36.    Let this song become a prayer today, for Jesus to increase, for His beauty to be reflected and seen in us.

 

Lily of the Valley
by David Ruis

Lily of the valley, bright and morning star
Fairest of ten thousand, you are
How can I perceive Your beauty, I long to see your face
Jesus, Jesus

Holy lamb of heaven, perfect son of man
Acquainted with our suffering, broken for us all
How can I perceive your mercy, help me find your grace
Jesus, Jesus

Chorus: 
More of you and less of me, and more of you and less of me
And more of you, more of you, Jesus

Desire of the nations, the risen, coming king
Holding the sceptre of justice, your reign, you reign
How can I perceive your coming, may you find faith on this earth
Jesus, Jesus

More of you and less of me, and more of you and less of me
More of you and less of me, and more of you and less of me

And more of you, more of you, Jesus

~~~

Dear Lord, Help this to be more than just a song to me.  Make it real.  Something that translates into loving You, loving others, and sharing the grace and hope of redemption in Jesus Christ.  In Your Beautiful Name, Jesus, Amen.

~~~

NOTE:  You can listen to two versions of this song in the Music Box.  You can play Rita Springer’s version from her CD, Rise Up!, or listen to a rendition by writer David Ruis himself.

3 thoughts on “More of You, Less of Me

What do you think??

