Complain or Pray?

“When my anxious thoughts multiply within me, your consolations delight my soul.”  Psalm 94:19

 

We awake everyday to anxious thoughts. And, in much greater degrees, the Lord’s consolations and mercies, await us as well.  But, to which do our minds take us most–anxiety or prayer?  That’s what hymnist William Cowper asks in the 18th century song, called Hindrances to Prayer:

 

What various hindrances we meet
In coming to a mercy-seat!
Yet who that knows the worth of prayer,
But wishes to be often there?

Prayer makes the darken’d cloud withdraw,
Prayer climbs the ladder Jacob saw,
Gives exercise to faith and love,
Brings every blessing from above
.

Restraining prayer, we cease to fight;
Prayer makes the Christian’s armor bright;
And Satan trembles when he sees
The weakest saint upon his knees.

Have you no words? Ah, think again,
Words flow apace when you complain,
And fill your fellow-creature’s ear
With the sad tale of all your care.

Were half the breath thus vainly spent,
To heaven in supplication sent,
Your cheerful song would oftener be,
“Hear what the Lord has done for me
!”

 

Imagine singing this in church?  Maybe we should consider singing it to ourselves, or at least agree with Paul, to

“Pray at all times.” Ephesians 6:18

“Devote yourselves to prayer, keeping alert in it with thanksgiving!”
Colossians 4:2

2 thoughts on “Complain or Pray?

  1. I saw the title of your blog on BlogHer & popped on over for a visit. Blessings to you! I’m just coming to the end of a deep, deep valley in which I had struggles, which were made worse because of my attitude. Yet through it all, God kept showing me His goodness & faithfulness, & there times when I could see it, especially the past few months. I’ve learnt that gratitude & thankfulness & joy are all decisions that must be made constantly, & not just in the good times. There are always things for which to be thankful because God never lets go of us & His goodness is all around us. Thanks for your post, & I’m going to subscribe to your blog. I love it! 😀

  2. Hi Linda. Beautiful words, right here. Yes, we often find it easier to complain, than direct those complains as prayer to God who is waiting to hear and unburden us from worldly cares. My heart is lifted up to Him, in praise and in thanksgiving today. BECAUSE HE LIVES, I CAN FACE TOMORROW!

    Blessings as always,

    Gladwell

What do you think??

