Out of Control

 “The kingdom of the world has become the kingdom of our Lord and of his Christ, and he will reign for ever and ever!”  Revelation 11:15

When we pray, “Your kingdom come, Your will be done“, we are handing over control of our life to Someone else.  In other words, we’re out of control.   That was the main point of my post, A Dangerous Prayer, and it stimulated some interesting discussion with several friends and bloggers.  

I think Lidj, of CrownofBeauty, puts it best:  

We are all so prone of wanting to build our own little kingdoms…and God watches us with our pitiful, puny efforts. We are so protective of what we think is rightfully ours, not realizing that when viewed from God’s eternal kingdom, they are nothing but mud castles.

We’re holding on to what has no value in light of eternity… so this prayer, Thy Kingdom come, is indeed a dangerous prayer…as you say. It leads us to let go of something worthless to take hold of what has true and lasting value.

 

Funny–we don’t think what we’re holding onto is worthless. Our kingdom, our will is very precious to us.  And we’re not so sure the King of the Kingdom has our best in mind.  Why?  Maybe because we really don’t know Him, His love, His beautiful grace towards us.  

“For he has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son he loves.”  Colossians 1:13

4 thoughts on “Out of Control

  1. Dear Linda,
    Thank you for this post. Again, I could share so much with you about what “Out of Control” means to me…for God did deal with precisely that in my life years ago when He gave me a new name. I used to be a “Control Freak” (pardon the word, I don’t really like it, but it’s the perfect way to describe how I was in my early years as a Christian) but God stepped in and came to the rescue.

    I want to share with you a blog post written by my dear friend Katie. Here’s the link… it’s all about being little kings holding on to our little kingdoms! The way your words connect to her words is simply amazing.

    I have already prepared the post that will feature your post A Dangerous Prayer. It will be published on my blog a few days from now.

    You are one of the joys I have discovered in Blog World. I invite you to visit my latest blog entry, an anniversary post — it’s a tribute to all my blog friends.

    Love your heart, dear Linda.

    Love
    Lidj

  2. This reminds me of what Jesus told his disciples, ‘TO SEEK HIS KINGDOM FIRST and all other things will come as additions. In essence, God says if His Kingdom comes, then other things which we need will automatically follow. Yes…that is a dangerous prayer but the most rewarding.

    Blessings as always,

    Gladwell

What do you think??

