Secure in Him

“He will hide me in his shelter in the day of trouble; he will conceal me under the cover of his tent; he will lift me high upon a rock”
Psalm 27:5

 

I’m feeling better, brain is working, and ideas are flowing again!  I see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living! (Ps 27:13). 

Praise the LORD!  My sister-in-law, Becky, was pronounced CANCER FREE this week by the doctor and medical staff that have been treating her over the past 9 months!!  She was diagnosed with Stage 4 colon cancer last May, and underwent extensive, painful surgery and difficult chemo treatments!  Undergirding all the medical treatment, was constant prayer for healing and comfort! ! [I posted some thoughts and battles about her cancer HERE and HERE.] 

Can we praise the Lord, even if we don’t understand the trial, or why it happened? Is our security in our understanding?  I hope not.  I hate cancer.  I don’t understand why it strikes so randomly.  As I pray for others with cancer, like Kate McCrae and Matt Chandler, I wrestle with a lot of ‘whys’, but my security and peace aren’t based on having all the answers.  Paul David Tripp says in his book on Psalm 27:

You are not secure because you have control or understanding.  You are secure even though you are weak, imperfect, and shortsighted.  You are secure for one reason and one reason alone:  God exists and he is your Father.  He will never leave your side.  He will never fail to provide.  He will make good on everything he has promised.  And he has the power to do so.  He is Lord.”

So, in our weakness and lack of understanding, let us run with prayer and praise to our loving Father, and find shelter in His rich mercy, mighty power, sovereign rule, unsurpassed grace, and unconditional love.

What “whys” is he asking you to relinquish to Him?

4 thoughts on “Secure in Him

  1. Praise God! That is such great news! I know you and the rest of your family must be so relieved… cancer is so brutal. We’ll join you in thanking and praising God for this and will keep praying for health, long life, and continued remission for your sister-in-law. God bless!

    • Thanks, Beth! We’ll continue in prayer for Todd and his family..as you said, cancer is brutal, and I can’t begin to grasp the whys or wherefores about it. Thankfully, answered prayer isn’t dependent on my faith or understanding…but on a great God. 🙂 Love you! Linda

What do you think??

