A Dangerous Prayer

“Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is heaven.”  Matt. 6:10

How well do I know these words?  How often do I pray/say them?   But do I mean them?  Paul David Tripp suggests how dangerous these words may be–to my little kingdom: 

 

“There are things I want in my life, and I not only want them, but I know how, when, and where I want them!  I want my life to be comfortable…my schedule to be unobstructed and predictable…people around me to esteem and appreciate me…control over the situations and relationships in my life…I don’t want to suffer.  I don’t want to leave without…What I am saying is that I want my kingdom to come and my will to be done.

Thy kingdom come is a dangerous prayer, for it means the death of your own sovereignty.  It means your life will be shaped by the will of Another.  It means that you will experience the messiness, discomfort, and difficulty of God’s refining grace.  It means surrendering the center of your universe to the One who alone deserves to be there.  It means loving God above all else and your neighbor as yourself.  It means experiencing the freedom that can only be found when God breaks you bondage to You!  It means finally living for the one glory that is truly glorious, the glory of God.

Thy kingdom come, are words of surrender, words of protection, words of grace that can only be prayed by those who’ve been delivered by the Redeemer from…the kingdom of self.” [1]

 

Unlike many governments in place today, God’s kingdom is not one to be feared.  God’s kingdom is a reign of grace (A.W. Pink).  The ruler and King is Jesus, full of grace and truth, “blessed and only Sovereign, the King of Kings and Lord of Lords.” (I Tim. 6:15) .

His kingdom is also a reign of love.  “But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us!”  (Rom. 8:37).  “There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves punishment, and the one who fears is not perfected in love.  We love, because He first loved us.” ( I John 4:18,19)

And so much more:

The kingdom of God is righteousness, and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit.” Romans 14:17

 “Seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added unto you.”  Matt. 6:33

For He delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of His beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.”  Col. 1:13, 14

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A dangerous prayer?  Yes, to my self-driven kingdom of one.  But more so, a comforting prayer, as I surrender to the One who loves perfectly;  He became poor, took on my griefs and sorrows, died, and rose again!  I can trust Him.  Why do I fear, when His kingdom is the safest place to be? 

 

Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is heaven.

  

 

[1] Paul David Tripp, Whiter than Snow: Mediations on Sin and Mercy. Crossway Books, 2008. Wheaton, IL.  pps 61-62.

5 thoughts on “A Dangerous Prayer

  1. This prayer has caused me to pause many times. Do I really understand what it is that I am asking? Am I willing to take the consequences of that prayer? And if I don’t really want my Father’s Will to be done in my life, why is that and how can I change? So many things to think about. Thanks for this post. Blessings!

    • Carrie,
      Yes, it’s a much more sober prayer than one sees thrown glibbly around in popular movies.

      Today was one of those days when I was tremendously challenged by this prayer. Sometimes I LIKE my ‘little kingdom.” “I want, I want, I want!”

      It would be funny if it wasn’t so true!!!!

      Blessings!!

  2. Dear Linda,
    I read this post the last time I was here, but was unable to comment. Now I’ve come back to read it again…in fact I’ve read it several times. What you say connects deeply with what I feel about God’s kingdom.

    It is another post of yours that I want to read over and over again.

    We are all so prone of wanting to build our own little kingdoms…and God watches us with our pitiful, puny efforts. We are so protective of what we think is rightfully ours, not realizing that when viewed from God’s eternal kingdom, they are nothing but mud castles.

    We’re holding on to what has no value in light of eternity…

    And so this prayer, Thy Kingdom come, is indeed a dangerous prayer…as you say. It leads us to let go of something worthless to take hold of what has true and lasting value.

    May I invite you again, one of these days, to guest my blog with this entry?

    Love
    Lidj

    • Lidj,
      I really think you understand the weight and blessing of this prayer more than most, or at least, more than I. You’ve experienced God’s kingdom invading your life through personal loss and tremendous discomfort. So your comments aren’t taken lightly.

      I’m not sure how to guest blog 🙂 But I’d love to do that, or, you could quote any/all of this post as you see fit. Thank you for the honour and request!

      Love, Linda

  3. I came over from Lidj’s blog:

    You are so right – as is Paul Tripp [ I heard him speak in person 3 years ago] … this is a prayer that better be backed with a willing heart.

    God is serious about our prayer life. I wonder if we are?

    This goes along with my own post today about the ‘fear’ of the enemy…. I hope you’ll check it out……

    IN CHRIST and HIS WILL – we have nothing to fear but fear itself! May His Kingdom come!

    Choosing JOY, Stephanie
    JESUS ONLY in 2010

What do you think??

