Blessing in the Thorn

Many have died and many more are suffering in Haiti, and throughout the world. Many of our loved ones are going through really difficult times.  For today, I chose to encourage and minister with grace, rather than force any pat answers to suffering.  Perhaps a reminder of Christ’s love will minister to you, through this song from Phillips, Craig, and Dean :

Blessing in the Thorn

I read about a man of God
Who gloried in his weakness
And I wish that I could be
More like Him and less like me
Am I to blame for what I’m not
Or is pain the way God teaches me to grow
I need to know

When does the thorn become a blessing
When does the pain become a friend
When does the weakness make me stronger
When does my faith make me whole again
I want to feel His arms around me
In the middle of my raging storm
So that I can see the blessing in the thorn

I’ve heard it said the strength of Christ
Is perfect in my weakness
And the more that I go through
The more I prove the promise true
His love will go to any length
And reaches even now to where I am

But tell me once again

When does the thorn become a blessing
When does the pain become a friend
When does the weakness make me stronger
When does my faith make me whole again
I want to feel His arms around me
In the middle of my raging storm
So that I can see the blessing in the thorn

Lord, I have to ask You
On the cross You suffered through
Was there a time You ever doubted
What You already knew
?

When does the thorn become a blessing
When does the pain become a friend
When does the weakness make me stronger
When does my faith make me whole again
I want to feel His arms around me
In the middle of my raging storm
So that I can see the blessing in the thorn

I want to see the blessing in the thorn.

 

You can listen to this from the blue Music Box.  This version is from their CD, Where Strength Begins, Phillips Craig and Dean.

6 thoughts on “Blessing in the Thorn

  1. Oh wow…that goes along so much with my thoughts today too, and the blog I posted a little while ago. There are so many blessings, and so many lessons to be learned from those times we seem to have our heads held under water in ways. Thank you for posting this! The words to that song describe so much how I’ve felt so many times through it all.

    Love you Linda!

  2. Hi Linda. These are beautiful words…but one has to live them to fully understand the profound and deep meaning. Our Lord is called THE SUFFERING MESSIAH and we take from his example. Weakness, pain and suffering is a friend when we allow Him to work out a greater glory through this.

    Blessings as always,

    Gladwell

  3. How true these words are. The thorn in Paul’s side was allowed to keep him focused on God’s kingdom and not this world. Because of it, Paul’s thorn actually became a thorn in the side of the enemy as Paul grew bolder in his faith because of what he suffered.

  4. Thanks to each of you for your comments and encouragement!

    Sharing something (in a post) is so different than knowing or embracing it. So, I continue to be a learner on this journey. I;m glad you’re there with me! And the Lord!

    Amen. Blessings!

  5. I just finished listening to this song you shared. It’s my first time to hear this, and it’s absolutely beautiful, my kind of song.

    Thank you so much, Linda.

    I want you to know that you are such a blessing.

    Discovering you is like receiving an unexpected gift of grace.

    Love
    Lidj

    • Dearest Lidj,
      Thank you for such kind words. I, too, am thankful we found each other (!), and I pray many more readers and seekers will find YOU! They’ll be blessed and encouraged by the musings, thoughts, photos, and sincere, godly example of a woman fully surrendered to Jesus!

      Love, Linda

What do you think??

