Days, not Years

“Teach us to number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.”   Psalm 90:12

Let’s pay attention to the word, “days.”  Moses knew, even after 100+ years, that we can only live ‘one day at a time.’  Warren Wiersbe discusses this in his expositional Bible commentary:

“We number our years [with birthdays], but not our days…but all of us have to live a day at a time, and we do not know how many days we have left.  A successful life is composed of successful days that honour the Lord.”

One Day at a Time

 

This verse is also the theme of Alistair Begg’s Truth for Life newsletter and his message this month is worth repeating: 

 
“Here is a suitable verse for the start of the year of our Lord 2010.  Calvin observes that “it is a clear confession that without divine grace we are utterly foolish concerning the plainest things.”

If statistics alone could impress upon us the brevity of life and the reality of death and the certainty of judgment, we would all address ourselves to the issue. The fact is, the message never registers until God brings it home to us. Moses’ prayer comes at a time when thousands were dying annually in the wilderness. One would think that such fearful mortality would have impressed the whole nation. But it didn’t.

Twenty-first century men and women are no different. We walk through graveyards, treading on the dust of our forefathers, meeting long-lost friends at funerals, and yet we do not number our days aright except through some special operation of the Spirit of God.

Perhaps by now you’re thinking that this is a rather gloomy way to begin the year. Not so!  This is not a funeral psalm. It is for the living. When we submit our minds to God’s revelation and we consider Him as Creator, Judge, and Savior, then we will learn to be satisfied every morning in His unfailing love. 

Then we may safely ask Him to “establish the work of our hands.” In brief, we enter 2010 walking with Him and working for Him.” [1]

[1] Read more at Alistair Begg’s website HERE

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My Prayer

With this verse, and conviction, I face a new year, a collection of days, hours, minutes, and seconds.  Moments.  Opportunities.  Life.

“Dear Heavenly Father, This verse sums up all my heart cries and groanings within.  Since my days are numbered by You, and I’ve lived many of them already, my remaining days are more likely fewer, and, therefore, more precious.  How many have been wasted, ruined by sin and self, and are worth less than nothing in eternity?  Thank you for your patience, loving grace and forgiveness through each and every one!

Help me to waste not one day ahead, and may Today, matter above all!

Teach me to number my days by loving You with all my heart, soul, and mind, and loving others as myself.  Only then, will I glorify You and bless others.  In decisions small and large, let wisdom reign and love for You be at the center. 

So much awaits in my book of days, all known only by You. I commit each one to Your gracious care and direction, for You alone are Faithful!  Your mercies are new every morning!

I dare not trust myself or my imaginations of what lies ahead, so I ‘wholly lean on Jesus’ name’,

“who is able to keep me from stumbling and to present me blameless before the presence of his glory with great joy, to the only God, our Savior, through Jesus Christ our Lord, be glory, majesty, dominion, and authority, before all time and now and forever!  Amen.”  
[Jude 24,25]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“He who has help you hitherto, will help you all your journey through.”  C.H. Spurgeon

7 thoughts on “Days, not Years

  1. Thank you for this post. Its quite challenging for me. But on the other hand, I realize thankfully, that I didn’t enter the New Year with great ideas of how to make this one more productive/successive but rather with the desire that what I did yesterday will resound today and reflect into my tomorrow. God desires for us to live today…and tomorrow will take care of itself.

    Blessings,

    Gladwell

    • Gladwell,
      Thank you so much for dropping by! I can be too focused on purpose/productivity at times. Partly because, as I get older (I’m 55), the reality of having more days behind me than ahead (most likely :-), weighs heavy on me. Some of my ‘yesterdays’ aren’t ones I’m proud of, so I long TODAY to make up for those failures. Not sound doctrine, but how my mind works at times.

      On the other hand, I know I need to make my life and focus much more on ‘relationship’ with the Lord instead of purpose. It’s something I go back and forth on so much!

      I love how you said ‘that what I did yesterday will resound today and reflect into my tomorrow.” Thanks!

      I visited your website and am truly blessed by your life and testimony. I’ll ‘talk’ with you more there!
      In Him, Linda

  2. How true! May we remember to live each day for Him and take advantage of every opportunity to share His Love with those around us. We never know when He will be done with us on Earth – so may we be bright lights for Him now! Blessings!

  3. Thank you Linda for your kind words. Let’s keep HIS BANNER LIFTED HIGH. In any case, its not about us…our weakness, failures and under achievements of yesteryears the Lord has in focus. But rather…the you and I who is ready to engage Him NOW!!

    Love,

    Gladwell

  4. Good afternoon!
    Such a thoughtful and thought-inspiring post, Linda. It doesn’t take much to forget that every breath, every moment, is a gift from our Father’s hand. Once each moment is gone, it is gone forever. How quickly the clock ticks: minutes into hours, hours into days. Weeks, months. Years. ~sigh~ Do you notice as you get older how they fly? I’ve been thinking…what kind of footprint will I leave on today? What impression do I want to leave if I were to leave this earth tomorrow?

    You mentioned past failtures and I like what Paul says about “forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead” (I stole that idea for my blog name). We can’t change the past, but we can take what the Lord has given us in His mercy, and use it to His glory. May we all press on!

  5. Dear Linda,
    This post is so appropriate and so timely. Thank you for what you have shared, both the portion you quoted from Alistair Begg, as well as your lovely prayer which I echo in my heart.

    Like you, I want to live one day at a time. It is so meaningful to look at life that way. God’s touch is so real, His voice so near, and His love so heartfelt.

    Dear friend, thank you for leaving such a kind comment at my recent post. You surely have my permission to share that post with your other friends who may benefit from hearing about the dream that God has given me.

    Love
    Lidj

What do you think??

