The Way Up is Down

 Starting a new year and remembering what really matters…

 

“Whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be slave of all.   Mark 10:43

 

So the last will be first, and the first will be last.” Matthew 20:16

 

For whoever will save his life shall lose it: and whoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it.”  Matthew 16:25

 

Therefore if any man is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things are passed away; behold, new things have come.”  2 Corinthians 5:17 

 

“As unknown, and yet well known; as dying, and, behold, we live; as chastened, and not killed;  As sorrowful, yet alway rejoicing; as poor, yet making many rich; as having nothing, and yet possessing all things.”  2 Corinthians 6:9, 10 

 

“‘My grace is sufficient for thee: for my power is made perfect in weakness.’  Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my weaknesses, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”  2 Corinthians 12:9 

 

“But what things were gain to me, those I counted loss for Christ.”  Phillipians 3:7 

 

Lord, high and holy, meek and lowly,
Thou hast brought me to the valley of vision,
where I live in the depths but see Thee in the heights;
hemmed in by mountains of sin I behold Thy glory.

Let me learn by paradox that the way down is the way up
that to be low is to be high,
that the broken heart is the healed heart,
that the contrite spirit is the rejoicing spirit,
that the repenting soul is the victorious soul,
that to have nothing is to possess all,
that to bear the cross is to wear the crown,
that to give is to receive, that the valley is the place of vision.

Lord, in the daytime stars can be seen from deepest wells,
and the deeper the wells the brighter Thy stars shine;
let me find Thy light in my darkness,
Thy life in my death,
Thy joy in my sorrow,
Thy grace in my sin, Thy riches in my poverty, Thy glory in my valley. 

 

Arthur Bennett, Ed.  The Valley of VisionA Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotions.  Banner of Truth Trust, Carlisle, PA.  2003

4 thoughts on “The Way Up is Down

  1. Thanks for coming back to the basics of what really matters.

    Fantastic, thought-provoking Scriptures with a prayer from The Valley of Vision.

    Blogs posts don’t get much more God-exalting, Christ-centered and gospel-saturated than this. Good stuff!

    Keep up the insightful posts.

    Soli Deo Gloria!

    • Erik,
      Thanks for dropping by and I’m so glad you were encouraged. I’m most grateful that the Lord is honoured and the gospel shared–for anything less would be void of meaning 🙂 Amen! Thank you again!

      Blessings, Linda

    • Mercedes,
      It IS a great book! Oddly enough, I don’t own one–YET! I gave it as a Christmas present to my daughter. Now that we’re not visiting her, I must get one for myself 🙂

      Thanks again,
      Linda

What do you think??

