Twice Adopted

I’m thankful for adoption!  I am twice adopted, once by my Daddy on this earth, and then by my Father in Heaven. 

When my Dad met and fell in love with my mom, he quickly became aware that I was part of the ‘package.’  A rambunctious, spoiled 3-year old, loved and trained by her mom and grandparents, didn’t dissuade him from marriage or instant fatherhood.  He fully embraced me along with my mom, and raised me as his very own.  Better yet, he adopted me, giving me his name, legally becoming my Father, and I, fully accepted and received as his daughter.  [You can read more about my dad on a past post, Remembering Dad.]

I’ve heard and read so many teachers and pastors attempt to describe adoption in theological and legal terms, yet their dissertations fall short in capturing the heart and bona fide experience of adoption.

Adoption means to me, I am not only accepted, I am Wanted!  

Some men who marry women with children reluctantly accept that they have to help raise those children.  But my dad, by adopting me, said,”I not only accept this responsibility, I want it, I welcome it, I’m ‘into it!!'”

With the exact same willingness and emotions, I’ve been adopted by my Father in Heaven.   He accepts me, even more, He wants me!  He chose to add me to His family!

“Just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before Him, in love He predestined us to adoption as sons through Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the kind intention (lit: good pleasure) of His will.”  Ephesians 1:5

“For you have not received a spirit of slavery leading to fear again, but you have received a spirit of adoption by which we cry out “Abba! Father!  The Spirit Himself bears witness that we are sons of God.'”  Romans 8:15, 16

“And because you are sons, God has sent forth the Spirit of His Son into our hearts, crying, “Abba! Father!” Galatians 4:6

Knowing my daddy adopted me, gave me full assurance that I was also loved by him. I have no memory of wondering if I was loved. I never doubted.  I knew it.  What a privilege!

So, too, knowing my Heavenly Father chose me and adopted me as His very own, should have the same result, leaving no doubt in God’s love, no questioning of His affection.   That is perfect love.

“There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves punishment, and the one who fears is not perfected in love. 

We love, because He first loved us.”
I John 4:18, 19

I’ve been twice adopted, twice chosen.

First Loved. 

Wanted. 

4 thoughts on “Twice Adopted

  1. This brought tears to my eyes. You are a beautiful woman…in words, and in the pictures I see… I can feel your heart. So full of confidence.

    A father’s love does that.

    Happy Thanksgiving.

    Love
    Lidj

What do you think??

