A Web of Friends

A friend loves at all times.”  Proverbs 17:7 

For the next few days leading up to Thanksgiving, I’d like to practice thankfulness by sharing some things for which I’m personally thankful.

Today, I am so thankful for all the dear friends I’ve come to know or communicate with on the internet.  Though we aren’t able to talk over a nice latte or call each other when we’re feeling down, our friendships grow through encouraging posts and comments, discussing the Lord, sharing photos, Facebook statuses, tweeting, etc.  I’m deeply thankful for Connie, Kay, Kim, Lidja, Beth, Carrie, Mercedes, Marianne, Ben, Mike, Pastor Ron, and many more!   Different ages, different places, but one common thread ties us all together–the saving Grace of our Lord Jesus!   

Many of these friends have blogs, and it’s my sincerest desire that you’ll look at a few of them.  Each one is unique, and so worth reading.  Here’s a sampling:

Beth Stone Studio   
Beth is a young, beautiful, talented Christian artist in too many ways to share here.  See for yourself, and if you do so before Thanksgiving, you can enter in a contest to win one of her outstanding art prints.

Carrie’s Busy Nothings
Carrie just started blogging, and covers everything from crafts to coupons, and a ton of money-saving ideas!

Crown of Beauty
Lidja, an online friend in the Philippines, stuns me each and every day with her insights in the Word, photos of her country, and love for the Lord.

Diary of a Broken Vessel
Mike is a fellow Navy Sailor and my online friend.  He’s a student of the Word and shares my interest in Reformed authors and theology.

God’s Promises are Real
Marianne writes so much on trusting in the Lord, especially in difficult situations.  Her encouragement is like an oasis in the internet desert.

 

I count myself in nothing else so happy
As in a soul rememb’ring my good friends.”
William Shakespeare 

 

5 thoughts on “A Web of Friends

  1. You are too sweet! Thanks for the link. You are a blessing to me from afar and I’m so thankful for things like blogs and FB to help us keep in touch. Someday though, let’s sit and have that chat over a latte, OK? 🙂

  2. Dear Linda,
    I have been away for a while, so here I am reading up on some of the posts I’ve missed.

    Hey, I was surprised to find my name on this post…and am so grateful to have you as an online friend.

    Earlier this afternoon, a British friend of mine told me she had started a new blog. When she mentioned it to a friend, this friend gave her a long lecture on why blogs are a waste of time and could even dissipate precious time that could otherwise be spent on better things.

    I have to disagree. For me, my blog is one of the best gifts that God has given me these past year and a half. Through it, I have met many precious and sincere and spiritually mature Christian women (and a few men, as well). I think I only have this to say: anyone’s opinion on blogs doesn’t count if that person doesn’t have a blog!

    Well, all I really wanted to say was that I am truly thankful to the Lord for giving me a friend like you. You are special!

    Love
    Lidj

  3. Hi Linda, it is rather late, but I wanted to tell you how much I appreciate you! You have such a sweet, gentle way of writing and encouraging others. I just pray that God blesses you deeply and that he does a mighty work through you. Friends like you, even though we have never met, are reminders that God is with me and is putting me with those who will help me in my walk of faith.

    God bless you, my sister!

What do you think??

