Give Your Troubles Away

“In my anguish I cried to the Lord, and he answered by setting me free. The Lord is with me; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?”  Psalm 118:5, 6  (NIV)

Wy do we keep our troubles and anguish to ourselves?  The psalmist David cried to the Lord. when his heart was overwhelmed.  Why do we hesitate?  Why are we afraid?   The Psalms constantly encourage us to give our troubles away to the Lord.  He is with us!

In the following excerpt, Martin Luther offers fresh, yet stern exhortation on this subject, even though he penned these thoughts nearly 500 years ago: 

You must learn to call on the Lord.  Don’t sit all alone or lie on the couch, shaking your head and letting your thoughts torture you. Don’t worry about how to get out of your situation or brood about your terrible life, how miserable you feel and what a bad person you are.

 Instead, say, ‘Get a grip on yourself, you lazy bum!  Fall on your knees, and raise your hands and eyes toward heaven.  Read a psalm.  Say the Lord’s Prayer, and tearfully tell God what you need.

 This passage teaches us to call on Him.  Similarly, David said, “I pour out my complaints in His presence and tell Him my troubles  (Psalm 142:2).   God wants you to tell him your troubles.  He doesn’t want you to struggle with them all alone and torture yourself.  Doing this will only multiply your troubles.

God knows you will be too weak to overcome your troubles by yourself.  He wants you to grow strong in him.  Then, He will be the one who receives the glory.  Out of difficult experiences emerge true Christians.

You must never doubt that God knows your troubles and hears…learn to appreciate the part of tha passage that say’s, ‘The Lord answered me and set me free.’  The psalmist acknowledged the Lord heard him and released him from his troubles.”  [1]

 

Dear Lord, I commit my way to you today.  Thank you for the reminder that I can and must call on you everyday.  It’s expedient that I bring my troubles, cares, anguish, anxieties, and whatever large or petty things are weighing me down, to You.  You are with me.  You are for me!  In Jesus’ precious name, Amen.

 

[1]  Martin Luther, Faith Alone.  Ed. James C. Galvin.  Zondervan, Grand Rapids, MI(2005).  Page, Sept 15.

2 thoughts on “Give Your Troubles Away

  1. Such true words….. thanks for the reminder. sometimes we get so lost in our own thoughts and difficulties that we forget that He is waiting for us to come to Him. Thanks again.

What do you think??

