One Clean Heart Needed

Create in me a clean heart, O God.”  Psalm 51:10

“Could there be a more fundamental prayer request than this? Could there be anything more essential than this?

“We need grace to transform what we love, what we crave, and what we serve. And what’s the bright and golden promise of the cross of Jesus Christ?  It’s a new heart!

“Here’s the gorgeous message of the gospel:  even though I’ve bowed again and again to an endless catalog of God ‘replacements,’ even though I’ve loved myself more than I’ve loved God, even though I’ve rebelled against God’s kingdom and sought to set up my own kingdom, God comes to me in grace and wraps arms of love around me and begins a process that will result in the total transformation of the core of my personhood, the heart.  He won’t rest and he won’t relent until He’s created in you and me a completely pure heart!

“So with thankfulness for the transformation that’s already taken place and with the courage of hope of the transformation yet to come, we wake up, look to heaven, and say with David, ‘Create in me a clean heart!‘”

Paul David Tripp, Whiter Than Snow:  Meditation of Sin and MercyCrossway Books, IL (2008).  Pgs. 113-115.

One thought on “One Clean Heart Needed

What do you think??

