A Psalm for Rebecca

A Psalm for my sister-in-law as she continues her chemo treatment today.  A Psalm, a prayer, a cry…may the Lord encourage her, and you, through His reassurance, mercy, deliverance, protection, compassion, goodness, and very Presence. 

Psalm 116    NIV

1 I love the LORD, for he heard my voice;
       he heard my cry for mercy

   2 Because he turned his ear to me,
       I will call on him as long as I live.

    3 The cords of death entangled me,
       the anguish of the grave came over me;
       I was overcome by distress and sorrow.

    4 Then I called on the name of the LORD:
       “LORD, save me!”

    5 The LORD is gracious and righteous;
       our God is full of compassion.

    6 The LORD protects the unwary;
       when I was brought low, he saved me.

    7 Return to your rest, my soul,
       for the LORD has been good to you.

    8 For you, LORD, have delivered me from death,
      
my eyes from tears,
       my feet from stumbling,

    9 that I may walk before the LORD
       in the land of the living.

    10 I trusted in the LORD when I said,
       “I am greatly afflicted”;

    11 in my alarm I said,
       “Everyone is a liar.”

    12 What shall I return to the LORD
       for all his goodness to me?

    13 I will lift up the cup of salvation
       and call on the name of the LORD.

    14 I will fulfill my vows to the LORD
       in the presence of all his people.

    15 Precious in the sight of the LORD
       is the death of those faithful to him.

    16 Truly I am your servant, LORD;
       I am your servant, as was my mother before me;
       you have loosed my bonds of affliction.

    17 I will sacrifice a thank offering to you
       and call on the name of the LORD.

    18 I will fulfill my vows to the LORD
       in the presence of all his people,

    19 in the courts of the house of the LORD—
       in your midst, Jerusalem.
       Praise the LORD.

6 thoughts on “A Psalm for Rebecca

  1. I’ll be praying for her… I truly hope she gets better.

    God might not heal our physical bodies instantly, but if we move our eyes towards Him and focus on Him and on our Lord Jesus who has already saved us, not only from sin, but also from all types of sickness, our bodies will heal without us even knowing, we would be too happy to notice it.

    God bless you and your sister-in-law.
    🙂

    • Thank you for your encouragement! Isn’t it amazing that the Lord (and the internet) have no boundaries! We can share, encourage, comfort, strengthen and pray for each other anywhere, any place. He reigns and rules without borders! Blessings, brother, for visiting my blog, sharing your thoughts, and for your great blog as well!! Linda

What do you think??

