My Compass, His Word

My Compass, His Word

Thy Word is a lamp to my feet, and a light to my path.”  Psalm 119:105

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. 
In all your ways, acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.”
Proverbs 3:5, 6

“Man’s steps are ordained by the Lord, How then can man understand his way?” Proverbs 20:24

“The steadfast of mind Thou wilt keep in perfect peace, because he trusts in Thee.”  Isaiah 26:4

“I know, O Lord, that a man’s way is not in himself, nor is it in a man who walks to direct his step.”  Jeremiah 10:23

“Do not be anxious for tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself.  Each day has enough trouble of its own.”  Matthew 6:34

Birthdays are one of those times when I reflect back and assess some sort of progress over the past year…or lack thereof.  Then I switch gears and ponder on what lies ahead, inordinately curious about the things that may cross my unknown path…the joys, difficulties, decisions, disappointments, etc..  Usually this train of thought leads only to anxiety and a compulsive desire to control my ‘fate.’  But what do I know??   Only God knows my days.  He alone orders my path aright.  With that, my birthday must become a time of renewed trust in Him, a loving Father, Who alone directs and guides my path. As  I wrote in a journal a few years ago, “My journey is under the direction and guidance of a Wise Captain; my compass and map, His Word.”

I prefer how Spurgeon addressed this with the Word:

“Thou shalt guide me with thy counsel, and afterward receive me to glory ”  Psalm 73:24

“The psalmist felt his need of divine guidance.  He had just been discovering the foolishness of his own heart, and lest he would be constantly led astray by it, he resolved that God’s counsel would henceforth guide him.  A sense of our own folly is a great step toward being, wise, when it leads us to rely on the wisdom of the Lord.

“The blind man leans on his friend’s arm and reaches home in safety.  Likewise, we should give ourselves up implicitly to divine guidance, nothing doubting, assured that though we cannot see, it is always safe to trust the all-seeing God.  “Thou shalt” is a blessed expression of confidence.

There is a word here for you, believer; rest in it.  Be assured that your God will be your counselor and friend.  He will guide you and will direct all your ways.

“In His written Word you have this assurance in part fulfilled, for Holy Scripture is His counsel to you.  We are happy to have God’s Word always to guide us!  What would the mariner be without his compass?  And what would the Christian be without the Bible?  This is the unerring chart, the map in which every shoal is described, and all the channels from the quicksands of destruction to the haven of salvation are mapped and marked by One who knows all the way!

“Bless you, O God, that we may trust You to guide us now, and guide us even to the end! 

“After this guidance through life, the psalmist anticipated a divine reception at last–“and afterward receive me to glory.”  What a thought for you, believer!!  God Himself will receive you to glory–You!  Though you are wandering, erring, straying, yet He will bring you safe at last to glory!  This is your portion!

“Live on it this day, and if perplexities should surround you, go, in the strength of this text, straight to the throne.”

Amen….may I ever trust you Lord, as you light my path and guide each step, according to your Word and your loving faithfulness!

5 thoughts on “My Compass, His Word

  1. Oh dear Linda,

    I wish you a happy birthday! This is such a good and timely post.

    Just got back today from a three day retreat with a group of women held at the beautiful city of Baguio, a city up north of our country.

    Wanted to let you know that I have passed on a special blog award to you. Please visit my Aug 31 blog post.

    Love
    Lidj

    • Thank you Lidj! What a lovely way to encourage one another, with such a special award!

      Your retreate sounds wonderful. I especially enjoyed all the photos you posted! Delightful!!

      When we get rested up from our journeys, I hope to post photos of some of the God’s blessings towards us–weddings, babies, family time, God’s beauty! However, one thing the Lord continually reminds me of is, “to rejoice in this, that your names are written in the Book of Life!” No blessing can outweight that one 🙂

      You’re a blessing to me! Love, Linda

  2. Hi Linda,
    I stopped over from Lidj’s at Crown of Beauty. I loved reading your guest posts that she shared. I wanted to stop by and meet you and let you know how much I enjoyed them. There is nothing else that can change us except His Absolute Grace! Amen. I plan to come back and visit you much more. I would love it if you would like to come by and meet me as well.
    Christy Rose

What do you think??

