Hope for More

I haven’t written a post lately, with the intent purpose of keeping the last post on the Lord’s faithfulness foremost on my heart and on the blog.  This beautiful assurance, can comfort us through most anything in this life!

But I still forget!!  Why?!  Probably because I’m focusing on THIS life and not the ultimate plan the Lord has for me, my family, and every single person that has ever lived.  I’m trying to make sense of all the sufferings of others or myself, the trials, pains, difficulties, tragedies, and bad news all around me.  But it doesn’t make sense.  It only confuses matters more when I look for satisfaction, peace, and ‘good feelings’ in this life and bruised world.

Then I recall what I’m supposed to do:

Fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down the the right hand of the throne of God.”  Hebrews 12:2

“But according to His promise we are looking for new heavens and a new earth, in which righteousness dwells.  Therefore, beloved, since you look for these things, be diligent to be found in Him in peace, spotless and blameless.”  2 Peter 3:13,14

It’s not about all that I have or don’t have, the successes and failures, or as Spurgeon says, “the losses and crosses”… for as Peter said,

“…[be] firm in your faith, knowing that the same experiences of suffering are being accomplished by your brethren who are in the world.  And after you have suffered for a little, the God of all grace, who called you to His eternal glory in Christ, will Himself perfect, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.”  I Peter 5:9,10

“…He shall wipe away every tear from their eyes; and there shall no longer be any death; there shall no longer be any mourning, or crying, or pain; the first things have passed away…”

“and He who sits on the throne said, ‘Behold I am making all things new.’  And He said, ‘Write, for these words are faithful and true.‘”  Revelation 20:4, 5

What a Hope we have!!

The song that comes to mind as I determine to keep an eternal perspective, with hope for something much more than this life is, “Turn Your Eyes upon Jesus.”  I know, I’ve posted it before ( Look to Jesus – 2), but it bears repeating.  If not for anyone else, at least, for me.  🙂

Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus

[Chorus]
Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face,
And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His glory and grace.

O soul, are you weary and troubled?
No light in the darkness you see?
There’s a light for a look at the Savior,
And life more abundant and free!

Chorus

Through death into life everlasting
He passed, and we follow Him there;
Over us sin no more hath dominion—
For more than conquerors we are!

Chorus

His Word shall not fail you—He promised;
Believe Him, and all will be well:
Then go to a world that is dying,
His perfect salvation to tell!

 

This is in the Blue Music Box…#19…sung by Mary Barrett!!  Listen and be at peace, knowing our Lord holds us, and this fallen world, in His gracious and loving hands!   Hope!!

8 thoughts on “Hope for More

  1. “By chance” while searching on youtube for the song ‘Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus’, I came across the recording done by Mary Barrett. I immediately fell in love with her voice. I thought, “Who is this woman? Why have I not heard of her?” So, I did a google search for her and “By chance” came across a link to your blog site. I browsed around, appreciated your choice of links posted here on your blog, enjoyed your blogs that I was able to look at, and added you to my favorites. How’s that for “by chance?!” 🙂 Providential, I would say!
    Have a blessed day in Jesus, our Lord!

  2. Dorthy, I visited your blog and left a comment there. I’m blessed that the Lord brought you here, whether ‘by chance’ or ‘by design.’ 🙂 Love your blog and the encouragement you share there. Blessings, Linda

What do you think??

