He will never, never, never forsake

“The Lord is the one who goes ahead of you; He will be with youHe will not fail you or forsake you.  Do not fear, or be dismayed.”  Deut. 31:8

“…I will not fail you or forsake you.”  Joshua 1:5

“…He Himself has said, “I will never desert you, nor will I ever forsake you.”  Hebrews 13:5

“Do not fear, for I am with you: do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God I will strengthen you, surely I will help you.  Surely I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”  Isaiah 41:10

When I’m overwhelmed with the daily news, feel dreary, despairing, or discouraged, these verses fill my heart and day with hope, and speak reassuringly of God’s unfailing devotion. I’m been drawn to these anew in light of my precious sister-in-law, who faces chemotherapy right now, following very tough days battling cancer and going through surgery.  She, and many others living with cancer or watching loved ones walk its path, cry out, “Is God there for me?  Is He with me, no matter what?”  Only by frequent reminders from His Word, the near and present help of Jesus, the comfort of the Holy Spirit, and proclaiming of His promises in song and worship,  can such questions be answered with assurance, 

 “I am with you!  I will never leave you.  Fear not!  I am your God.  I will strengthen you.  I will help you.  I will uphold you.”   Our God is for us, a firm foundation in a shaky world.

One hymn that offers similar encouragement and promise is, “How Firm a Foundation.”  This song became one of my favourites when I used to hear it everyday on the far-reaching radio broadcast of Dr. J. Vernon McGee on his “Through the Bible Radio.”

 

How Firm a Foundation

George Keith, 1787

How firm a foundation, ye saints of the Lord,
Is laid for your faith in His excellent Word!
What more can He say than to you He hath said,
To you, who for reuge, to Jesus have fled!

In every condition, in sickness, in health,
In poverty’s vale, or abounding in wealth;
At home and abroad, on the land, on the sea
As the days may demand, shall thy strength ever be.

Fear not, I am with thee, oh be not dismay’d!
For I am thy God, and will still give thee aid;
I’ll strengthen thee, help thee, and cause thee to stand,
Upheld by My righteous omnipotent hand.

When through the deep waters I call thee to go,
The rivers of grief shall not thee overflow;
For I will be with thee, thy troubles to bless,
And sanctify to thee thy deepest distress.

When through fiery trials thy pathway shall lie,
My grace all-sufficient shall be thy supply;
The flame shall not hurt thee; I only design
Thy dross to consume, and thy gold to refine.

The soul that on Jesus hath leaned for repose,
I will not, I will not desert to his foes;
That soul, though all hell should endeavour to shake,
I’ll never, no never, no never forsake!

 

I also uploaded a comforting musical version of this hymn to the Blue Music Box on the right, as sung on Sovereign Grace’s, Together for the Gospel.   Be encouraged, don’t despair, and receive  His everlasting, never failing grace.

5 thoughts on “He will never, never, never forsake

  1. You know, Linda, for me it’s still overwhelming sometimes to think how faithful God is in all situations. Thanks be to God for the fact he will not forsake us in our times of trouble, sloppy living and failure. He is truly an awesome God.

  2. Linda,
    What lovely words of wisdom. I, too, have been pondering the need to get away from the dreariness of the media and bad news. It is crucial for each and everyone of us to take comfort in His healing Word. Only then can we have the strength and peace to continue on, no matter what comes. Thank you for a wonderful post. God bless.

    Constance

    P.S. Perhaps once I get settled in my new job we could meet up for lunch in Asheville or somewhere in your neck of the woods.

    • Constance,
      Thank you for visiting and being so full of encouragement! I’m so thankful for your new job and pray it works out well for you and to the glory of God!

      I’d love to meet up in Asheville sometime! I’ll let you know through email or a FB note when I’m available! Family life is pretty busy this summer (for which I’m thankful), but I look forward to autumn when life and creation cools down a bit 🙂 Blessings! Linda

What do you think??

