A Monument of Grace

A Monument of Grace

A Monument of Grace

“You also, as living stones, are being built up as a spiritual house for a holy priesthood, to offer up spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ…Behold I lay in Zion a choice stone, a precious corner stone, and He who believes in Him shall not be disappointed!”  I Peter 2:5, 6

We are called with a holy calling, according to God’s sovereign purpose, grace, and mercy!  Our purpose as a spiritual building of the Lord–a monument of grace–is to offer sacrifices of praise and thanksgiving to Him Who abolished death and gave us life and light in our darkness!

The following hymn really captures this thought and expresses my own heart’s longing and prayer.  It was written by John Kent, and unfortunately, is not recorded in many modern hymnals, but may be found in Spurgeon’s, “Our Own Hymnbook.” [1] 

Monument of Grace

“Indulgent God! how kind are all Thy ways to me,
Whose dark benighted mind was enmity with Thee;
Yet now, subdued by sovereign grace, my spirit longs for Thine embrace.

How precious are Thy thoughts, that o’er my bosom roll;
They swell beyond my faults, and captivate my soul;
How great their sum, how high they rise, can ne’er be known beneath the skies.

Preserved in Jesus, when my feet made haste to hell;
And there should I have gone, but Thou dost all things well;
Thy love was great, Thy mercy free, which from the pit delivered me.

Before Thy hands had made the sun to rule the day,
Or earth’s foundation laid, or fashioned Adam’s clay,
What thoughts of peace and mercy flowed in Thy dear bosom, O my God!

A monument of grace, a sinner saved by blood:
The streams of love I trace up to the Fountain–God!
And in His sacred bosom see eternal thoughts of love to me.”

John Kent, 1766-1843

 

  [1]  C.H. Spurgeon (compilation, 1866), Our Own Hymn-Book, Pilgrim Publications, Texas. 2nd Ed, 2002.

7 thoughts on “A Monument of Grace

  1. I am a pastor and would like to use the image posted with “A Monument of Grace” (July 31, 2009) in my bulletin. Are you able to give me permission to do this?

    You have a very nice site here.

    God bless you.

  2. Adam,
    The conclusion of the conflict with the cross on “Public Property” ended like this (from http://www.adventure-space.com/blogs/outdoor__national_park_news/archive/2007/09/08/judge-legislates-from-the-bench-again.aspx):

    “09/07/2007 11:11:51 PM PDT

    MOJAVE NATIONAL PRESERVE – A cross that stands above the desert as a memorial for Americans who died in World War I represents an unconstitutional federal endorsement of Christianity, according to a legal opinion handed down by the federal 9th Circuit Court of Appeals.

    The cross stands atop Sunrise Rock on Cima Road inside the Mojave National Preserve. The preserve is public land, part of the National Park System. Upholding a 2005 court decision, Judge M. Margaret McKeown wrote that the cross would not be allowed even if the government traded Sunrise Rock for other land with a private party, thus removing the cross from public land.”

    Thanks again for you visit and encouragement! Linda

  3. good morning linda,
    just coming from crown of beauty to say hi to you and thank you for allowing her to post these wonderful words of yours.
    what a way to start a week, reading this post!
    i see that you like mr. spurgeon and mr.tozer….oh two great preachers!!…i enjoy listening to them on “sermon audio.com..lots of gold in that site, eh?
    well god bless you and you have a great week!

  4. I am a professional Christian counselor, but also a songwriter. I discovered Monument of Grace a few years ago, and put it to music adding some of my own verses. It makes a wonderful praise and worship song. I’d like to get permission from the publisher and/or John Kent’s family to use his words. Could you help with this, and if so, please accept my gratitude.

    Blessings,
    Dr. Terry Capes

What do you think??

