Psalm 23 – Scottish Psalter

Over the millenniums, many writers have used their talents to put the Psalms to music and metric verse.  The Church of Scotland published their version in The Scottish Psalter of 1635.  My husband has a very tiny, pocket-size KJV Bible which contains all these Psalms in rhyme.  Here is Psalm 23:

The Lord’s my Shepherd, Ill not want
He makes me down to lie
In pastures green: He leadeth me
The quiet waters by.

My soul He doth restore again,
And me to walk doth make
Within the paths of righteousness,
E’en for His own name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through death’s dark vale,
Yet will I fear no ill:
For Thou art with me, and Thy rod
And staff me comfort still.

My table Thou hast furnished
In presence of my foes;
My head Thou dost with oil anoint,
And my cup overflows.

Goodness and mercy all my life
Shall surely follow me:
And in God’s house for evermore
My dwelling-place shall be.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Psalm 23 – Scottish Psalter

  1. Thanks! Sometimes a bit of worship music in the middle of the day can lift one’s spirit and comfort one’s heart. Come by again…I try to add a new song each week (more or less :-).
    Blessings, Linda

    • I really appreciate your prayers! Your blog—and your testimony speaks volumns of encouragement into my heart–and many others. I hope and pray more and more people will be drawn to your site!

      Blessings, Linda

What do you think??

