For Uncertain Times

Through joys, sorrows, wonder, sadness, despair, hope, good times and uncertain times, we have an anchor in our Lord.  I know my hope is ever sure, and that Jesus will give me grace and strength  for each day, during the most rocky of times, as well as those long bouts of very ordinary days.  I love the encouragement Spurgeon gives about God’s bigger plan for us, in which He unites every event, certain and uncertain, to ready us for eternity, where there will be no more tears or pain:

“Uncertain experiences often lead the anxious believer to inquire, ‘Why is this happening to me?’I looked for light, but lo, darkness came; for peace, but found trouble.  I said in my heart, my mountain stands firm; I will never be moved.  Lord, you hide Your face, and I am troubled.  It was but yesterday that I could read my title clear; today my evidences are unsure, and my hopes are clouded. 

“Yesterday, I could rejoice with confidence in my future inheritance.  Today my spirit has no hopes, but many fears, no joys, but much distress.  Is this part of God’s plan for me?  Can this be the way in which God would bring me to heaven?

“Yes, it is even so.  The eclipse of your faith, the darkness of your mind, the fainting of your hope–all these things are but part of God’s method of making you ready for the great inheritance into which you will soon enter.  These trial are for the testing and strengthening of your faith.  They are waves that wash you further upon the Rock; they are winds that waft your ship the more swiftly toward the desired haven.

According to David’s words, so it might be said of you, ‘He bringeth them unto their desired haven’ (Psalm 107:30). By honour and dishonour, by evil report and by good report, by plenty and by poverty, by joy and by distress, by persecution and by peace, by all these things are the lives of your souls maintained, and by each of these are you helped on your way.

Oh believer, do not think that your sorrows are out of God’s plan; they are necessary parts of it. “We must through much tribulation enter in to the kingdom of God” (Acts 14:22). Learn, then, even to ‘count it all joy when you encounter various trials’ (James 1:2).

O, let my trembling soul be still,

And wait Thy wise, Thy holy will!

I cannot, Lord , Thy purpose see,

Yet all is well since ruled by Thee.”

What do you think??

