Dying Love

“So His appearance was marred more than any man, and His form more than the sons of me.  Thus He will sprinkle many nations, kings will shut their mouths on account of Him; For what had not been told them they will see, and what they had not heard they will understand.”  Isaiah 52: 14,15

“He has no stately form or majesty that we should look upon Him, nor appearance that we should be attracted to Him.  He was despised and forsaken of men, a man of sorrows and acquainted with grief; and like one from whom men hid their face, He was despised, and we did not esteem Him.”  Isaiah 53:2, 3

“And after weaving a crown of thorns, they put it on His head, and a reed in His right hand, and they kneeled down before Him and mocked Him, saying, ‘Hail, King of the Jews!'”  Matthew 27:29

“He (God) made Him who knew no sin to be sin on our behalf, that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.”  2 Corinthians 5:21

Continuing with more songs on Jesus’ supreme love and suffering for us, I’d like to share the words and music of a more familiar hymn that’s captured my heart for years.  Over a year ago I posted this hymn, so I hope you don’t mind revisiting it.  This time around, I uploaded Fernando Ortega’s contemplative version in the blue Music Box, from his album,  Hymns and Meditations. 

O Sacred Head, Now Wounded 

O Sacred Head, now wounded, with grief and pain weighed down,
How scornfully surrounded with thorns, Thine only crown!
How pale are Thou with anguish, with sore abuse and scorn.
How does that visage languish, which once was bright as morn!

What Thou, my Lord, has suffered, was all for sinner’s gain:
Mine, mine was the transgression, but Thine the deadly pain.
Lo, here I fall my Saviour! ‘Tis I deserve Thy place,
Look on me with Thy favour, vouchsafe to me Thy grace.

What language shall I borrow to praise Thee, Heavenly friend,
For this Thy dying sorrow, thy pity without end?
Lord, make me Thine forever, nor let me faithless prove,
Oh, let me never, never abuse such dying love!

Bernard de Clairveaux, 1153

 

[Please note:  There are various stanzas/versions of this song.  The words posted here are from C. H. Spurgeon’s hymnal, quoted previously in my blog.]

4 thoughts on “Dying Love

  1. Really makes one think again of our Savior’s suffering. A friend of a friend of mine saw Jesus covered with blood looking down upon her (she is 92 and was very ill) speaking words of comfort to her. A drop of blood from his body fell upon her and she was made whole.

  2. “Mine, mine was the transgression, but Thine the deadly pain.”

    That’s really where the rubber meets the road, isn’t it? I’m the one whose life was marred and mangled with sin, but Christ is the one who patiently, kindly and mercifully bore my sin on the cross. He died so others could live.

What do you think??

