Why am I a Guest?

“It is a trustworthy statement deserving full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, among whom I am foremost (chief!).” I Tim. 1:15

I marvel at the privilege of knowing Jesus and communing at His table!  Why am I a guest?  Why does He consider me?  It can only be God’s abundant grace and mercy, who calls us all to “Come and dine!”  A beautiful hymn by Issac Watts called  “How Sweet and Awesome (Old English, aweful,  meaning full of awe!) is the Place“,  expresses the wonder of God’s choice and echoes my heart, “Why am I a guest?”

Sovereign Grace Music has blessed us with a recording of this gripping song, available on the CD entitled Together for the Gospel.  It’s a collection of hymns sung by over 5000 men gathered at a Pastor’s Conference under the same name.  It is truly Awesome!  I’ve placed it in the blue Music Box to the right, so you can listen and follow along with the words: 

 

How sweet and awesome is this place
With Christ within the doors,
While everlasting love displays
The choicest of her stores!

While all our hearts and all our songs
Join to admire the feast,
Each of us cry, with thankful tongues,
“Lord, why was I a guest?

“Why was I made to hear Thy voice,
And enter while there’s room,
When thousands make a wretched choice,
And rather starve than come?”

’Twas the same love that spread the feast
That sweetly drew us in;
Else we had still refused to taste,
And perished in our sin.

Pity the nations, O our God!
Constrain the earth to come;
Send Thy victorious Word abroad,
And bring the strangers home.

We long to see Thy churches full,
That all the chosen race
May with one voice, and heart and soul,
Sing Thy redeeming grace.
 [1]

[1]  Issac Watts.  Our Own Hymn Book, A Collection of Psalms and Hymns (compiled by C.H. Spurgeon). Pilgrim Publications. Texas.  2nd Ed. 2002.

4 thoughts on “Why am I a Guest?

  1. oh, my! this song expresses the “cry” of my heart more so than ever–been thinking of it much since last I was at your home–I thought of it much while I was around my family–I thought of it while I read the “Method of Grace” by Whitefield on the way home, and thought of it as the truths of it that spoke to me were “challenged” as soon as I got home here–
    and what does one do with the anguish in the heart (which I know does not compare to what is in Christ”s heart but still very strong) about those who do not come?
    I appreciate you putting all these songs on here–I listened to the whole bunch of them this morning in my quiet time–
    Called today–when you get some time, give me a call back–
    Love you, Colleen

  2. That’s what got me about this song too; it’s the cry of my heart. Why am I a guest, why do many refuse, why are some angered by the invitation? It’s only for their best! O, the unfathomable riches of Grace, what love is offered by a sovereign God, all without cost!

    Thanks for sharing! I’ll call soon…was in and out most of the day! Love ya! Linda

  3. Pingback: God of this City – Heaven | Absolutegrace

What do you think??

