Fully Known

“O Lord, You have searched me and known me, You know when I sit down and when I rise up; You understand my thought from afar.

“You scrutinize my path and my lying down, and are intimately acquainted with all my ways.” 

“You have enclosed me, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me.”

“..in Your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there were none of them.”

For several years now, I place these verses from Psalm 139 in the cover of my journal for the new year.  As I flip though the calendar for 2009, I’m amazed that the Lord knows what lies ahead, while each day remains a mystery to me.  He sees pages filled, while they seem blank to me!

There is comfort in knowing that, as a sturdy, well-bound book, the Lord has securely hemmed us in, holding our days (past and future) together with His strength, grace and faithfulness!!

Such knowledge is too wonderful for me!”

4 thoughts on “Fully Known

  1. This passage from Psalm 139, that all the days ordained for me were already written in His book even before I was even born, has always been an awesome thought for me. What a comfort indeed to know that God’s hedge of protection surrounds each day of this new year for each of us His children. Good news indeed in a world full of bad news!

What do you think??

