Longing to Seize the Day

“For a little while longer the light is among you.  Walk while you have the light, that the darkness may not overtake you…”  John 12:35

“You are all children of light and of the day.  We are not of night nor of darkness, so then let us not sleep as others do, but let us be alert and sober.”  I Thess. 5:5,6

“Encourage one another day after day, as long as it is still called ‘Today,’ lest any one of you be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin.”  Hebrews 3:13

“For not one of us lives for himself, and not one dies for himself; but if we live, we live for the Lord, or if we die, we do for the Lord; therefore, whether we live or die, we are the Lord’s.” Romans 14:7,8

This weekend, John and I are attending a retreat to seek the Lord on how to glorify Him more with our lives in this new season in which we we find ourselves.   It may be really simple.  It could be fixing up our home, literally and spiritually, to minister to others.  It might just mean being ‘who we are’ faithfully, as unto the Lord.   We want to apply Colossians 3:23, 24:

“Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord, rather than men; knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance.  It is the Lord Christ whom you serve.”

C.J. Mahaney (Sovereign Grace Ministries) is posting a new series on his blog about the nature of laziness and how to more effectively devote oneself to Biblical priorities. I hope to follow this series closely and apply it, in light of things John and I are discussing–how to be more fruitful in our lives.  And personally, I really need this series because one of my worst faults is Procrastination!!

C. J. makes these three points in his first post:

Busyness does not mean I am diligent
Busyness does not mean I am faithful
Busyness does not mean I am fruitful

So, what does it mean, or look like, to be diligent, faithful, and fruitful?  In a prayer of Spurgeon’s I’ve probably quoted before, we get some idea:

“Lord, help me to glorify You.  I am poor, help me to glorify You by being content.  I am sick; help me to give You honour by being patient.  I have talents; help me to extol You by spending them for You.  I have time, Lord; help me to redeem it, so that I may serve You.  I have a heart to feel, Lord; let that heart feel no love but Yours and glow with no flame but affection for You.  I have a head to think, Lord; help me to think of You and for You.  You have put me into this world for something, Lord; show me what that is, and help me to work out the purpose of my life.  I cannot do much, but as the widow put in her two mites, which were all her living, so Lord, I cast my time and eternity into Your treasury.  I am all Yours.  Take me, and enable me to glorify You now, in all that I say, in all that I do, and with all that I have.”

I think we all can see ourselves somewhere in this prayer.  John and I find we have (the luxury of) time.  So may we glorify the Lord Jesus with each minute!  Lord, teach us!

[FYI:  If you want to read CJ’s posts along with me, click on C.J.Mahaney under the “Blogrolls” column to the right, or just click here.]

What do you think??

