Engraved on His Hands

All my other posts and drafts must wait.  Today, the Word and Spurgeon’s devotional stopped me in my tracks and spoke to my greatest need.  May you be blessed as well.

“Behold, I have graven you upon the palms of my hands.”  Isaiah 49:16

“No doubt a part of the wonder that is concentrated in the word “behold” is increased by the unbelieving lamentation of this earlier sentence, “Zion said, ‘The Lord has forsaken me, and my Lord has forgotten Me.’” (Isaiah 49:14)  How amazed the divine mind seems to be at this wicked unbelief!  What can be more astounding than the unfounded doubts and fears of God’s favoured people? 

The Lord’s loving word of rebuke should make us blush.  He cries, “How can I have forgotten you, when ‘I have graven you on the palms of my hands’? How dare you doubt My constant remembrance, when the memorial is set on My very flesh?” 

O unbelief, how strange a marvel you are!  We do not know which to wonder at most:  the faithfulness of God or the unbelief of His people.  He keeps His promise a thousand times, and yet the next trial makes us doubt Him!

He never fails!

He is never a dry well.  He is never as a setting sun, a passing meteor, or a melting vapour; yet we are as continually vexed with anxieties, molested with suspicions, and disturbed with fears, as if our God were the mirage of the desert.

Behold” is a word intended to incite admiration.  Here, indeed we have a theme for marveling.  Heaven and earth may well be astonished that rebels should obtain so great a nearness to the heart of infinite love as to be written on the palms of His hands. 

I have graven you.”  It does not say, “Your name.”  The name is there, but that is not all:  “I have graven YOU.”  See the fullness of this!  I have graven your person, your image , your case, your circumstances, your sins, your temptations, your weaknesses, your needs, your works.  I have graven you, everything about you, all that concerns you.  I have put you altogether there.  Will you ever say again that your God has forsaken you when He has “graven you upon the palms of His hands“?”

“He was pierced for our transgressions, He was crushed for our iniquities.” Isaiah 53:5

What do you think??

