Fear Not

“Don’t be afraid.”

There’s a lot going on right now to foster fear and distress, even among the ‘faithful.’  The next few days I hope to direct our hearts and minds to a more sure and abiding hope than anyone or anything can promise or provide.  The Lord is our Hope, our anchor, our surety, in and through trials, difficulties, and suffering.

“He shall not be afraid of evil tidings.” Ps. 112:7

WHY?

“His heart is steadfast, trusting in the Lord.  His heart is upheld, he will not fear.”  Ps. 112:7, 8

 

Encouragement from the Psalms

“Hear my cry, O God;
Attend to my prayer,
From the end of the earth I will cry to You,
When my heart is overwhelmed;
Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.
For You have been a shelter for me,
A strong tower from the enemy.
I will abide in Your tabernacle forever;
I will trust in the shelter of Your wings.”
Psalm 61:1-4 NKJV

“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will abide in the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say to the Lord, ‘My refuge and my fortress, My God in whom I trust.’
For it is He who delivers you from the snare of the trapper and from the deadly pestilence.
He will cover you with His pinions, and under His wings you may seek refuge;
His faithfulness is a shield and bulwark.

“You will not be afraid of the terror by night or of the arrow that flies by day;
Or of the pestilence that stalks in darkness or of the destruction that lays waste at noon.”
Psalm 91:1-6

 

Jesus’ encouragement

Let not your heart be troubled; believe in God, believe also in Me.”
John 14:1

“Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives, do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful.”
John 14:27

“These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you have tribulation, but take courage, I have overcome the world.”
John
16:33

 

New Testament Encouragement

“Therefore we do not lose heart…..while we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen; for the things which are seen are temporal, but the things which are not seen are eternal.”
2 Corinthians 4:16-18

Next post:  Our focus–beholding Jesus.

What do you think??

