Waiting on God

As I gradually return to a routine of sorts, I hesitate opening up with thoughts or ideas to which I’ve failed to personally grasp or “attain”.  However, that severely limits the field of discussion!  So, because I nearly always find myself in a place of waiting, here’s encouragement from God’s Word and C.H. Spurgeon to help us as we wait:

“Wait on the Lord” 
Psalm 27:14

“We know that all things work together for good to them that love God…”
  Romans 8:28

“It may seem to be an easy thing to wait, but it is one of the postures that the Christian soldier does not learn without years of teaching.  Marching is much easier for God’s warriors than standing still.  There are hours of perplexity when the most willing spirit, anxiously desirous to serve the Lord, does not know what action to take.  Then what will it do?  Vex itself by despair?  Fly back in cowardice, turn to the right hand in fear, or rush forward in presumption?  No, it must simply wait.

Wait in prayer, however.  Call on God, and spread the case before Him.  Tell Him your difficulty and plead His promise of aid.  In dilemmas between one duty and another, it is sweet to be humble as a child and to wait with simplicity of soul on the Lord.  It is sure to be well with us when we feel and know our own folly and are heartily willing to be guided by the will of God.

But wait in faith.  Express your unstaggering confidence in Him.  Unfaithful, untrusting waiting is an insult to the Lord.  Believe that if He keep you tarrying even until midnight, He will come at the right time. [Not so easy to do.]  The vision will come and will not tarry.

“Without faith it is impossible to please God, for he who comes to God must believe that He is and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.”  Hebrews 11:6

Wait in quiet patience, not rebelling because you are under affliction, but blessing your God for it.  Never murmur as the children of Israel did against Moses.  Never wish you could go back to the world again, but accept the situation as it is and put it as it stands, simply and with your whole heart, without any self-will, into the hand of your covenant God. 

Say, ‘Now, Lord, not my will but Yours be done.  I do not know what to do.  I am brought to extremities, but I will wait until You divide the floods or drive back my foes.  I will wait, even if You keep me waiting for many days, because my heart is fixed on You alone, O God.  My spirit waits for You in the full conviction that You will yet be my joy and my salvation, my refuge and my strong tower.’

Do not say, ‘From whence can God relieve my Care?’

Remember that Omnipotence has servants everywhere.

His method is sublime; His heart profoundly kind.

God never is before His time and never is behind.”

5 thoughts on “Waiting on God

  1. Linda,

    This post spoke very powerfully to me. Thank you so much for sharing it. It has given me so much to reflect on and consider and call out in my own life. I can wait…but I don’t think that I wait with the grace that Spurgeon is calling us to practice.

    Thank you. This was an encouragement I greatly needed this morning.

    Blessings,

    Michael

  2. Michael,
    Thanks for the comment and so glad you were encouraged! Spurgeon challenges me in ways few others can, apart from the Word itself, Himself.

    Continuing in prayer for you as you serve–the Lord, and our country!

    In Him,
    Linda

  3. Linda, this is so meaningful to me. Ted and I deal with the ‘waiting’ issue so much…God keeps telling us to wait and it’s so hard to do. And of course it’s something we all have dealt with at times through life. I actually wrote a song one day when I was feeling down and tired, shortly before I met Ted, called “Waiting On You”.

    But God is always faithful, isn’t He? And as difficult as it is to wait…His timing is always so amazingly perfect.

    Thank you for this! 🙂

    Love,
    Anne

  4. Anne, Thank you for getting in contact with me, and for the encouraging comments!

    My favourite aspect of the Lord is His Faithfulness! John and I have tested Him mightily on this, and He’s proven faithful over and over again!
    Love, Linda

What do you think??

