Come Thou Fount – David Crowder Band

The David Crowder Band has remixed and recorded several older hymns, and blessed us with a terrific new version of the beautiful old hymn, “Come Thou Fount.”  This version can be found on the worship CD, “Passion: Our Love is Loud.”

We learn from the song that God is our Fount, or Source, of every blessing–blessings of mercy, grace and love.  He lovingly seeks out the wandering ones (us!), to rescue them from danger, through His precious death on the Cross.  The song concludes with the awareness that we’ll forever be in debt to His grace, and a prayer that we won’t wander from the love and life God has drawn us to!

Though I posted this hymn before under Debtor to Grace, I’ve included the lyrics again because the words are so meaningful: 

Come, Thou Fount

by Robert Robinson

Come, Thou fount of every blessing, tune my heart to sing Thy grace;

Streams of mercy, never ceasing, call for songs of loudest praise.

Teach me some melodious sonnet sung by flaming tongues above;

Praise the mount, I’m fixed upon it, mount of Thy redeeming love.

 

Here I raise to Thee an altar, hither by Thy help I’m come;

And I hope by Thy good pleasure safely to arrive at home.

Jesus sought me when a stranger wand’ring from the fold of God;

He to rescue me from danger interposed His precious blood.

 

 O to grace how great a debtor, daily I’m constrained to be!

Let Thy goodness like a fetter bind my wand’ring heart to Thee.

Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it, prone to leave the God I love;

Here’s my heart, O take and seal it, seal it for Thy courts above.”

5 thoughts on “Come Thou Fount – David Crowder Band

  1. Linda, thanks for the post. I especially identify with the turtle. “The race is not to be swift”. I think the hardest thing we humans can be called to do, is to wait. The scriptures refer to waiting as resting in the Lord. Jesus calls us to come to Him in our times of need and we will surely find His grace and mercy waiting there for us to receive. Jesus also said if we come to Him, open up our hearts and minds to Him, we will discover His yoke is easy and His burden is light. I am still trying to enter into that reality. I hope all is well with your soul, Love John

  2. John,
    I completely agree–resting is harder than “it looks.” Jenny said it’s like floating on the water–we usually kick, swim, jump, and fight the water, but when we relax and float, we’re held up without a struggle. That’s how the Lord wants us to rest. Still working on it…
    Thank you for the encouragement, I love you,
    Linda

  3. I love David Crowder Band! I never heard this hymn remix! Thank you! I shall post in on my myspace! How true, I am prone to wander, like a pet on a leash, something glittery catches my eye, and I chase it, something bigger and bolder calls me, and I follow it, I wait for my master to be distracted—and I run! I want to run to the Father, not away! Thank you for this post!

    Love you Mom,
    Joy

  4. Joy, Thanks for the comment!

    The thought of being a debtor to grace completely overwhelms me–we can never repay what Jesus has done for us, and He’s not asking us to. So we’ll always be in loving dependence and indebted to Grace. What wonder!

  5. Pingback: 100th Post! « Absolutegrace

What do you think??

