Safe in His Hands

During the next two weeks while I’m away from familiar surroundings and an established routine, I still hope to share thoughts, devotionals, and Scriptures to encourage, comfort, and strengthen!  One of the first authors I devoured as a new believer was Andrew Murray.  Though I’m drawn more to C.H. Spurgeon nowadays, I love to retreat to the comforting, grace-filled inspiration of Murray:

“The almighty Son, through whom God has created all things, upholdeth and filleth all things by the word of His power; this is He who will even so, in the power of His Godhead, uphold and fill thy whole life and being. Thy Creator is thy Redeemer!

One great cause of feebleness and backsliding in the Christian life is the power of circumstances.  We often say that temptations that come to us from our position in life, from the struggle to live, from the conduct of our fellowmen, draw us away from God, and are the cause of our falling into sin.  If we but believed that our Redeemer is our Creator!

He knows us; He appoints and orders our lot; nothing comes to us but what He has in His hands.  He has the power to make our circumstances, however difficult, a heavenly discipline, a gain and a blessing.  He has taken them all up into the life-plan He has for us as Redeemer.  Did we but believe this, how we should gladly meet every event with the worship of an adoring faith!”

O Lord,  You have searched me and known me

You know when I sit down and when I rise up;

You understand my thoughts from afar.

You scrutinize my path [journey] and my lying down,

And are intimately acquainted with all my ways.

Even before there is a word on my tongue,

Behold, O Lord, you know it all

You have enclosed me behind and before,

And laid Your hand upon me!

Psalm 139:1-5

What do you think??

