Worship with Mary Barrett

Our little fellowship was led into grand and inspirational worship yesterday, led by Mary Barrett of Calvary Chapel Merritt Island (FL).  The Lord inhabits the praises of His people!

An additional delight was meeting Mary personally, and seeing one who loves and worship her Lord even through intense trials.  Earlier this year she was diagnosed with carcinosarcoma, a rare life-threatening cancer which led to extensive surgery and chemotherapy.  Her little trip to our gathering in the Blue Ridge Mtns was on the heels of her 4th (and last!) chemo treatment!  According to her nursing staff, she’s officially a “cancer survivor.”  But more than that, Mary remains a servant of the Lord who is leaning on God’s Everlasting Arms. 

If you’d like to learn more about Mary Barrett, her music, ministry, family, history with cancer, and most of all, her Lord, please visit her blog.   Right now you can worship along with her–just click on the blue Music Box at the top right of this page.  I’ve uploaded “Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus” and “Be Still My Soul”, from her “Hymns 2” CD. 

Mary Barrett’s CDs can be purchased through ITunes, Footsteprecords, or Amazon.com.  Her music genre includes live contemporary worship, contemplative songs which she has composed, and beautiful renditions of numerous beloved hymns.  A special CD entitled “Worshiper,” is a compilation of all of these, and is available only through Footstep Records, with all proceeds going to the Mary Barrett Cancer Fund.  It’s just a little way to pass on the blessings she brings to others!

Most of all, keep her in prayer, that the Lord may grant her many more years to share with her husband, minister in music, and grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord Jesus. Thank you Lord!

“I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therein to be content.” 

 Philippians 4:11

14 thoughts on “Worship with Mary Barrett

  1. Mary Barrett has a beautiful clear voice. I enjoyed listening to her “Be Still My Soul”. I am searching for more worship music, maybe she is the answer.

  2. Linda thanks for posting this song,Mary causes the crushed spirit in me to be awakened.I pray you can worship the Lord with my sisters in Spirit and in truth,on this special time together. Love you John

  3. John,
    Thank you for the encouragement, and I’m so thankful for any music that ministers to your spirit. Thank you for your prayers and sincere blessings for me on this trip. I miss you already! Love, Linda

  4. Pingback: Look to Jesus–2 « Absolutegrace

  5. Pingback: 100th Post! « Absolutegrace

  6. Mary Barrett was one of the first Christian artists I felt I could listen to and still feel it was reverential worship. Her albums “Hymns II” and “Take My Life” are still my favorites. The arrangement of “When I Survey the Wondrous Cross” is the best I hgave ever heard of this, my favorite song. I hope she blesses us with a continuation of Hymns, in her unique style.

  7. Thanks for listening and commenting!!

    “O, the Deep, Deep Love of Jesus” is from the CD “Indelible Grace”, performed by musicians from the college group at Christ Community Church and the Reformed University Fellowship at Belmont University. The singer’s name is Katy Bowser. (I couldn’t fit all that in the Blue Box 🙂

    Please pray for Mary Barrett. Her cancer has returned, this time, in her liver and the prognosis is not good. She’s been given a limited time to live in this life, which, though gain for her, means loss for family, friends, and many others. Please keep Mary and her husband in prayer during this difficult time.

    Thanks again!
    Blessings, Linda

  8. The last time I had spoken with Mary via email (9-07), she was experiencing what she seemed to indicate were allergies and asthma related problems. I am so sorry to hear she has taken a turn for the worse. I will keep her in prayer. Thank you for the update and the info on the song, too.

  9. Pingback: Pray for Mary Barrett « Absolutegrace

  10. Hi Mary. You were kind enough to perform with our worship team last year at Calvary Chapel Central Bucks. I’ve only been saved for ~5 years and you are the first artist that really pushed my button. Your sweet voice and incredible guitar are truly gifts from God. I’m so grateful that the Lord brought you and your music into my life. I would LOVE to see you perform again. May our Lord Jesus protect you and your family.

    Love and blessings,

    Stew Stumpo
    CCCB

    P.S. I’ve listened to some of your songs so much I can play them by ear on the piano!

  11. Pingback: After Two Years « Absolutegrace

  12. I had the privilege to worship our God with Mary many years ago in Sunrise, Florida. She has always been an inspiration to me. I have 1 of her cd’s, and is one of the most beautiful ones to worship. Heaven gain a beautiful soul. I can picture her singing with the angels and smiling like she could only smile. May God bless her husband always.

What do you think??

