Aslan and Dostoevsky

 

Aslan and Dostoevsky?  What? 

Well, it could be that it’s scorching hot and lacking any A/C, my brain is fried, or maybe that I just saw “Prince Caspian” yesterday, but there really is a correlation.  I love Aslan, and will refrain from a movie review, but he seemed much more absent in the movie than in C.S. Lewis’ book of the same name.  Somewhere, the writer’s tossed aside the book in deference for a box office hit.  Even so, some important quotes from the book gratefully made it into the screenplay unscathed, and one in particular.  As Aslan is preparing to crown Prince Caspian as King of Narnia, Aslan says:

“Welcome, Prince. Do you feel yourself sufficient to take up the Kingship of Narnia?”

I-I don’t think I do, Sir, ” said Caspian. “I’m only a kid.” [He wasn’t an older teen, as portrayed in the movie.]

“Good,” said Aslan.  “If you had felt yourself sufficient, it would have been a proof that you were not.”

In Crime and Punishment, Dostoevsky writes this regarding an invitation from God:

“Then Christ will say to us, ‘Come you as well, Come drunkards, come weaklings, come forth ye children of shame…’ And the wise men and those of understanding will say: ‘O lord, why do you receive these men?’ And he will say, ‘This is why I receive them, O ye of understanding, that not one of them believed himself to be worthy of this.’  And he will hold out his hands to us and we shall fall down before him..and we shall weep…and we shall understand all things!” 

I like the comforting echo in these two books.  And God’s word tells me the same:  

My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness. Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, that the power of Christ may dwell in me.  Therefore, I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses; with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ’s sake; for when I am weak, then I am strong.”  2 Corinthians 12:9-10

I’m encouraged, because I’m not sufficient, worthy, or strong….

 

“But I can do all things through Him who strengthens me!”   

~~~~~

Endnotes

C.S. Lewis, Prince Caspian, (London: Scholastic Inc, 1951), page 200

Fyodor Dostoevsky, Crime and Punishment, (New York: Bantam Books, 1987), page 20

Linda will be back writing her own thoughts, or editing those of John’s, as soon as the temperature drops below 90F/32C….

One thought on “Aslan and Dostoevsky

  1. Great insights into film and literature–you picked up interesting threads in both pieces. No matter if you’re Christian or not, humility is not only attractive in a person, it is also good for society. I liked C.S. Lewis’ books, especially Mere Christianity.

What do you think??

