The Deep, Deep Love of Jesus

No matter who or where we are, or what occupies our day, we can never hear often enough that we are loved.  Too often, religion, spirituality, legalism, being a good person, expectations of how we should live and be, all seek to alienate us from the truth of God’s love for us.  Yet, God demonstrated His love to us, dramatically, through His Son on the Cross!  And His unconditional love is confirmed constantly in His Word and echoed through the cries of His Son Jesus, “I love you with an everlasting love, come to Me!” 

The following hymn, yet another favourite of mine, is ripe with intensity about Jesus and His love. It’s cry and plea rings out as if the lyricist wanted to physically grab the listener and say, “Don’t you get it?!!  Jesus loves you!” 

If you have a moment, you can listen as you read–I placed a very dynamic, modern version of the song in the blue “Music Box” to the right.  [It’s the sixth song–just click on the box, wait a few seconds, then click on the arrow to play.]  Be assured that Jesus loves you!! 

O the Deep, Deep Love of Jesus

O the deep, deep love of Jesus, Vast, unmeasured, boundless, free!!

Rolling as a mighty ocean in its fullness over me.

Underneath me, all around me, is the current of His love-

Leading onward, leading homeward, to my glorious rest above.

O the deep, deep love of Jesus, spread His praise from shore to shore!

How He loveth, ever loveth, changeth never, never more:

How He watches o’er His loved ones, died to call them all His own;

How for them He intercedeth, watches over them from the throne!

O the deep, deep love of Jesus, Love of every love, the best!

‘Tis an ocean vast of blessing, ’tis a haven sweet of rest.

O the deep, deep love of Jesus, ’tis a heaven of heavens to me;

And it lifts me up to glory, for it lifts me, Lord, to Thee!

by S. Trevor Francis/Thomas J.Williams

4 thoughts on “The Deep, Deep Love of Jesus

  1. Pingback: 100th Post! « Absolutegrace

  2. Pingback: A Sacrifice of Praise « Absolutegrace

  3. What a beautiful version, I love the background music too! I really really love the music you share with us! I’ve seen that blue music box on the side bar, but this is the first time I tried to make it work. Wow! Thanks for sharing.

  4. Lidj,
    Thank you for always being so encourageing!

    I’m also so thankful you were able to listen to the music in the Blue box 🙂 This hymn is my favourite of all favourites and yet I rarely hear it sung in chruch. How I hope to be singing this song all the way into heaven!

    I respect you, your writings and your blog so much. Thank you for the time, effort, and dedication you apply to your posts–the blessings ripple around the world!

    Love in Him, Linda

What do you think??

