Mother’s Day, everyday

My Mom and I

My original intention to do something grandiose for my mom on Mother’s Day didn’t materialized… reminding myself of the little hedgehog in stories I used read to my daughters (they’ll understand).   So instead..I’ll use this practical means to, once again, deservedly, honour my mom! 

In the Bible, Proverbs 31 presents some very specific, some lofty, standards defining the “excellent wife” (and Mother).   Several points seem impossible to attain, and to 21st century mind, nearly lean toward other-worldish concepts.  Upon closer examination, however, the qualities and attributes of the “Proverbs 31 woman,” are very powerful and influential.  

On the occasion of Mother’s Day, I’d like to point out just a few qualities I’ve seen in My Mom, and pray will take form in my own life.

vs. 11:  The heart of her husband trusts in her

vs. 12:  She does him good and not evil all the days of her life.

vs.17:  She girds herself with strength and makes her arms strong.

vs. 20: She extends her hand to the poor, and she stretches out her hands to the needy.

vs. 25: Strength and dignity are her clothing and she smiles at the future.

vs. 26: She opens her mouth in wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.

vs 27: She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.

For these and so much more, I bless and praise my Mom:

Her children rise up and bless her!”

“Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised!! ” Prov. 31:28, 30

Thank you, Mom!! 

I love you!!

3 thoughts on “Mother’s Day, everyday

  1. I don’t know what to say. I do not deserve all the praise and sweet words, but I am thankful that this is the image that you have of me. I think of the many mistakes that I have made both in raising you and in life in general and I am humbled by your words. May the Lord be glorified for it is He that has made we what I am today. He is still working on me to comform me more into His image. Praises to His name!
    Love Mom

What do you think??

