Driving through Life

 Mirroring Life

As this is being posted, my husband and I are heading to our youngest daughter’s wedding.  We have about 650 miles to drive–just today!  It’s almost funny how differently he and I drive.  He’s so focused on the mirrors, rear view, side, any available!!  He’ll asks me (nicely, of course) to keep my hands down when talking or looking at maps, so I don’t block the side mirror.  And when I realize he’s not paying attention to something I’ve said, it’s because he’s “watching that car behind us!”  OK…….  But if I notice something waaaaayy ahead, like brake lights (!), and think it’s time to slow down, he’s still looking in that rear view mirror, making sure the massive semi behind us is keeping it’s distance.

When I’m driving, he’ll often say, “is THIS what it’s like for you when I drive?” Meaning, of course, that he’s nervous and insecure because he’s not sure what’s happening behind us.   I don’t use my mirrors to the same degree as my husband, but I DO use them.  And, I always look over my shoulder before changing lanes! 

What I realized is that my husband and I handle driving much the same as we view life.  He is much more focused on what’s behind us in the rear view mirror–he’s more discouraged by the past, and is his own worst enemy about personal shortcomings or failures…kind of like the manufacturer comment, “objects in the mirror are closer than they appear.”  My focus always lies further ahead. Rather than concentrating on the now (or the past), I become anxious about all the unknowns ahead, wondering what’s coming up, what if there’s an accident, what if, what if……

The Bible doesn’t say much about driving, but it says alot about walking.  In Vine’s dictionary, walk is defined not only as a practical form of transportation, but also a way of travelling though life–how we live and conduct ourselves.  Here’s just a sampling of Scriptures on how to walk or live:

Walk in My statutes

Walk before Me forever

Walk with integrity

Walk in the light of the Lord

Walk humbly with Thy God

Walk in a newness of life

Walk by faith

Walk in a manner worthy of the Lord

Walk by the Spirit

Walk in love

Walk as children of the light

Walk in Him.

The keystone “walking” verse can be found in I John 2:6,

 “the one who says he abides in Him ought himself to walk in the same manner as He [Jesus] walked.” 

How did Jesus walk? As He was growing up, it’s recorded that “Jesus kept increasing in wisdom and stature, and in favour with God and men” (Luke 2:52). 

Then in Philipians 2,

“Have this attitude in yourselves which was also in Christ Jesus, who although He existed in the form of God, did not regard equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied Himself taking the form of a bondservant, being made in the likeness of man. And being found in appearance as a man, He humbled Himself by becoming obedient..”

Then, as Jesus washed the feet of His disciples, He gave a living example of how to live and walk humbly with God and man:

“For I gave you an example that you also should do as I did to you. Truly, truly, I say to you, a slave is not greater than his master, netiher one who is sent greater than the one who sent him.”  John 13:15,16 NASB

Jesus walked in obedience, pleasing God, and serving others with humility. We get another glimpse of this in Philippians 2:

“If therefore there is any encouragement in Christ, if there is any consolation of love, if there is any fellowship of the Spirit, if any affection and compassion, make my joy complete by being of the same mind, maintaining the same love, united in spirit, intent on one purpose.  Do nothing from selfishness or empty conceit, but with humility of mind let each of you regard one another as more important than himself.” 

The Word of God, the Holy Spirit, and the very life of Jesus serve as a compass (or GPS) and a detailed roadmap for our journey or walk, our personal conduct.  We learn a limited number of things from looking to the past, both others’ and our own, such as, how to avoid pitfalls, what bends in the road are treacherous, etc.  And regarding all that lay ahead, much is a mystery, but we are encouraged to “press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”  (Phil 3:14)  To appropriately balance both of these perspectives for Today, we are encouraged to “fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith.”  (Heb.12:2) 

Jesus is our ultimate focal point.  He will keep us on track, and strengthen us to “run and not grow weary, walk and not faint.” (Isaiah 40:31)

If we keep our eyes on Him, our paths will be directed by Him, and ultimately lead to Him for eternity.  And maybe we’ll even drive a little better–with humility and obedience!

Just ‘watch our for the other guy!’

 

What do you think??

