Jesus’ Prayer – Part 3

John 17:4
“I have brought You glory on earth by completing the work You gave Me to do.”

Jesus completed everything His Father sent Him to accomplish. He did this through His life, and death, on earth by revealing, manifesting, and making know to the world the very nature, character, and heart of the Father.

When Jesus was speaking with Thomas, He said,

“I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father except through Me. If you really knew Me you would know My Father as well. From now on, you do know Him and have seen Him.”   John 14:6,7 NIV

Philip asks Jesus to show them the Father and Jesus replies, “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen Me has seen the Father. How can you say ‘Show us the Father’? Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you are not just my own.  Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work.” John 14: 9,10 NIV

Also, Jesus humbly, willfully, and perfectly, completed the work of Salvation for which He was sent–to offer His life and blood on the cross, for the salvation and reconciliation of man to the Father.  As John the Baptist declared in John 1:29,

“Behold the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world.”

And on the cross, Jesus declared,

It is finished!”

“The reason My Father loves Me is that I lay down My life–only to take it up again. No one takes it from Me, but I lay it down on My own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from My Father.”

 John 10:17,18 NIV

“… you were redeemed from the empty way of life handed down to you from you forefathers…with the precious blood of Christ, a lamb without blemish or defect.  He was chosen before the creation of the world, but was revealed in these last times for our sake.”  

    I Peter 1:18-20 NIV 

“The hour has come for the Son of Man to be glorified. I tell you the truth, unless a kernel of wheat falls into the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies it produces many seeds….Now my heart is troubled and what shall I say? Father, save me from this hour? No, it was for this very reason I came to this hour.” 

 John 12:23-24, 27 NIV

Jesus confirms through His prayer that by His obedience, God the Father is glorified.  Today, may we learn from and follow our Lord’s example, knowing that obedience honours and glorifies God.

Next–John 17:5 

What do you think??

