A Letter from Alistair Begg

This letter from Alistair Begg was posted today on his website, Truth for Life.  As I mentioned in one of my earlier posts, I too, can’t let go of “Easter”.  Maybe it’s the calendar, maybe it’s seeing “peeps” in the 50% off rack, but more than likely, it’s seeing myself–my need, my sin–which creates a greater need for Jesus and a tighter grasp on the cross–I can’t let it go.  So, I share this letter in it’s entirety because he reminds us why we can’t let go of the cross….ever. 

“Paying close attention to an established denominational church calendar (which we don’t do at Parkside) can be a good thing, because it prevents us from moving away too quickly from the lingering benefit of the celebration of Easter. It is far too easy for Easter to be swallowed up by “Spring Break,” and for its impact to be dulled by our desire to move too rapidly to “the next thing.” I think there is something helpful in being reminded that we’re three Sundays beyond Easter… and is it four from Pentecost?

While Easter is now behind us, I am personally trying to recognize the benefits of not allowing the truth to disappear too quickly. But thinking about Easter is thinking about Christ. To think about Christ is to think about the Gospel, and I am reminded by Jerry Bridges that we should “preach the Gospel to ourselves every day.”

Perhaps it is a feature of my age, but I find myself pondering the importance of the rhythm of life: the place of a Sunday well spent, the recalibrating benefit of gathering with God’s people, and the peculiarly powerful impact of the regular attendance at the Lord’s Supper. Our heavenly Father desires the company of His children, and when we avail ourselves of “the means of grace” (Scripture, prayer, sacraments, fellowship, trials), we are the better for it. So let me encourage you to set aside time to pray and ponder the wonder of God’s dealings with us in Christ.

Here’s a quote from B.B. Warfield to set our course: ‘There is nothing in us or done by us, at any stage of our earthly development, because of which we are acceptable to God. We must always be accepted for Christ’s sake, or we cannot be accepted at all. This is not true of us only when we believe. It is just as true after we have believed. It will continue to be true as long as we live. Our need of Christ does not cease with our believing, nor does the nature of our relation to him or to God through him ever alter, no matter what our attainments in Christian graces or our achievements in behavior may be. It is always on His blood and righteousness alone that we can rest.'”

There’s more on my heart, but for reading time’s sake, I’ll save it for later…..

3 thoughts on “A Letter from Alistair Begg

  1. I like the statement, “It is always on His blood and righteousness alone that we can rest.” Praise God we have nothing, absolutely nothing, we can do to save ourselves. Can you imagine if it were otherwise the competition and jealousy that would prevail. How much would be enough? Thank God we can lay back in Him and rest in His love.

What do you think??

