Jesus is praying for you – Part 9

SATISFIED!!

Isaiah 53:11
“After the suffering of His soul, He will see the light of life and be satisfied; by His knowledge My righteous servant will justify many and He will bear their iniquities.”

I see the key to Isaiah 53, as well as the gospel message itself, in the word “Satisfied.”  God the Father, the creator of Life says, “I am satisfied with what was accomplished through My Son Jesus! ”  So far in our discussion of Isaiah 53, we’ve noted that the entire plan of salvation originated from the Father;  it was the Fathers’ creation, the Father’s plan, the Fathers’ purpose, the Father’s pleasure, the Father’s will, and the Father’s Son–so He can rightly say, I am satisfied!  In agreement, Jesus said on the cross,

 It is finished!” 

Satisfy/Satisfaction Defined:
“1. (a) Anything that brings gratification, pleasure, or contentment, (b) settlement of debt, payment of discharge of obligation, (c) reparation of injury or insult, (d) atonement for sin.
2. to fulfill the needs, expectations, wishes or desires of, to fulfill or answer the requirements or conditions of..”  New World Dictionary

In the Hebrew, saba, usually expresses God’s ability to  “satisfy or supply man with material needs”  (Vines Dictionary), as in  “Who satisfieth thy mouth with good things, so that they youth is renewed like the eagle’s.” Ps 103:5 KJV

The word pleased expresses the same meaning, as we see in the words of the Father,
 “This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.” Matt.3:17 NIV
“As for me, I will behold Thy face in righteousness: I shall be satisfied when I awake, with Thy likeness.”  Psalm 17:15 KJV
“They shall be abundantly satisfied with the abundance of Thy House; and Thou shall make them drink of the river of Thy pleasures.” Psalm 36:8 KJV

It is mankind who can never be satisfied.  Contrast Proverbs 27:20,

“Hell and destruction are never full; so the eyes of man are never satisfied.”

with Psalm 63:4,5,

My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness; and my mouth shall praise Thee with joyful lips.”

Often I struggle with resting in His Word when it states that the Father is completely Satisfied.  Yet, He is..and because of His satisfaction, I am accepted in the Beloved–Jesus! 

The fruit of GOD’s Satisfaction is Our Satisfaction:

“Come, all you who are thirsty, come to the waters, and you who have no money, come buy and eat!  Come, buy wine and milk without money, without cost.  Why spend money on what is not bread, and your labour on what does not satisfy?

Listen, listen to Me, and eat what is good and your soul will delight in the richest of fare.  Give ear and come to Me; hear Me that you soul may live.  I will make and everlasting covenant with you, My unfailing kindness promised to David.”  Isaiah 55:1-3 NIV

Jesus comforts us with His call:

Come unto Me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take My yoke upon you and learn of Me; for I am meek and lowly in heart and ye shall find rest (satisfaction), unto your souls.  For my yoke is easy and My burden is light.” Matt. 11:28-30 KJV

And quoting the Lord, the prophet says in Jeremiah 31:13,14:

“‘I will turn your mourning into joy and will comfort you and make you rejoice from your sorrow.  And I will satiate the soul of the priests with fatness and My people shall be satisfied with My goodness,’ saith the Lord.” (KJV) 

Ultimately, the Lord has both set and met (satisfied)the Standard–all for us!

Next time–He intercedes for us

What do you think??

