Tears are Prayers

I had difficulty today typing up John’s Isaiah lesson or offering the usual encouragement.  I woke up to the aches and pains of being a mom–not in the same way as moms with toddlers-to-teens.  Rather, just feeling the heaviness that comes when your children are hurting…you know…you hurt because they hurt.

It’s a reminder of my inabilities as a mother.  Even in an area “I’ve” been handling for 30+ years, I’m really not handling it well.  Instead of something we can improve at over time, it’s a vocation and calling for which we’re utterly unequipped and completely reliant upon the Lord for strength, ability, peace, and wisdom. We’re not magicians, we can’t make our children’s “boo-boo’s” go away, and we can’t protect them from all the hurts in the world, as much as we want to. 

“…my strength is made perfect in weakness.” II Cor.12:9 

Spurgeon says that “a primary qualification for serving God with any amount of success…is a sense of our own weakness.”  So parenting should keep us fairly aware of our need for God!!  We have to rely on Him constantly.  Only He can strengthen us, AND, He alone can deal with the hearts and hurts of our children. 

Pray!

It’s typical for most of us to come to the end of ourselves before seeking “outside” help.  I still want to be the answer, the comforter, and consoler for my children, even in their adulthood.  My shortcomings should lead me to the Lord, who “puts my tears [and theirs] in His bottle.” (Ps. 56:8)  Spurgeon explains:

 “Tears are the diamonds of heaven; sighs are a part of the music of Jehovah’s court and numbered with the sublimest strains that reach the Majesty on high. …He does not regard the triumph and pride of man.  But where ever there is a heart that is full of sorrow, lips that are quivering with agony, a deep groan, or a penitent sigh, the heart of God is open..”

Today, may my tears, sighs and sorrows for my children, be prayers to the Lord, to the God who “forgets not the cry of the humble.” (Ps. 9:12)  

2 thoughts on “Tears are Prayers

  1. Hey, children don’t ever stop pulling at our strings either for money, for food, for telling us that we messed up something in their lives, for never seeming to move past square one. The more I think that I know how to be a mom, the more I am reminded that I am still a child myself. I think that the Lord truly knew what He was doing when He told us to be fruitful and multiply. That not only meant actually giving birth, but I think that it meant your fruits would be multiplied by the many trials and blessings the challenge of motherhood brings.Hang in there and remember, we are all little children under our Father’s wings. Love Becky.

  2. Thanks so much for the comment and the encouragement! Sometimes I want to curl under those “wings” and not come out 🙂 I’m still very much a child, and oftentimes quite childish! Glad the Lord is patient with me, both as a child and a mom! Love you too, Linda

What do you think??

